We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brush up on your plumbing skills and morse code techniques before you check in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Ranked #390 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brush up on your plumbing skills and morse code techniques before you check in!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Appearance of the room was nice and sleek. Location very secluded in the area and overlooks the express way. Many empty homes in the area. Servers friendly but no common sense.

Service of the Hotel. I woke up to find that my toilet was clogged for whatever reason. Nothing was visually in the toilet but tissue. Tried to call front desk but the phone did not work to dial out. I walked around to the front and told the front desk. She handed me a plunger????? O-o.
Did you just hand me a plunger after I paid $104 with tax? I took the plunger and tried to fix it with no success. I went back to front desk because the phone was still not working. She handed me another plunger and I let her have it. I informed her that I did not pay to stay and do their plumbing too! This was not good customer service. She then offered another room for us to use instead, but I check out in 3 hours so whatever. Not pleased at all and really grossed out!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customerserviceamust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, we assure you, that we took all corrective majors, and assign a pm service to our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    35
    15
    18
See reviews for
36
13
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I only chose this hotel because I did not want to pay 250 dollars for a downtown hotel room for one night. The location is about 5 miles away from any downtown attractions. We went to the Toyota center to watch an attraction. It was very easy to get to the hotel and back. The location is under construction so there are a bunch of bumps in the road. The room was pretty spacious, with a microwave and fridge. I'll probably stay here again if I can't find anything cheaper the next time. The staff were nice, granted, I never had to speak to them unless to check in or out.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ufcchick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived at this hotel (on Greens Road) and it was a total disaster. The service was terrible, our room was dirty, the TV didn't work, only one light was working. The restroom was dirty and the door didn't close, it seems somebody kicked it and and was falling down. After just two hours there we manage to make a reservation at another hotel and just left. Never visit such property, it really sucks!

Room Tip: Don't even bother booking a room there, it reminded me the motel from the series "Bates Mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hekate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
This review was posted to the wrong hojo property, our hojo property address is 4602 Katy Freeway, Houston, Texas 77007. Therefore, we request you to remove this wrong guest post from your end as soon as you can.

Thank you,

Bee Ahir, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are so glad we chose to stay here last week when we were in Houston for a family funeral. The room was large with a refrig, and microwave. We enjoyed the HOT delicious breakfast in the morning too. The staff was courteous and friendly. The King bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean and fresh looking. The wi-fi worked great! Choose this motel and you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickie351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#344 of 517 in Houston
5 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#129 of 517 in Houston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern B&B
#74 of 517 in Houston
201 reviews
Great Uptown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing