We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Ranked #391 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    32
    14
    18
See reviews for
33
12
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORSICANA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our room was large, clean and well furnished. We loved the hot breakfast, excellent a/c, convenient parking. I was grouchy when we checked in and the receptionist was patient and kind. Construction in the immediate area made the location a real learning experience. My sister and I were attending the International Quilt Festival at the George Brown Convention Center, so that part of the location was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank JOANIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGVIEW
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The cable in my room had been severed, rendering my tv useless. I asked that it be repaired. While Alex did what he could the maintenance staff had left for the day and he didn't have a replacement cable. I was told that maintenance would have it repaired the nex day. I was not. Alex offered to 'borrow' one from another room or move me to another room. I felt like moving was an inconvenience and didn't move. I checked out the next day. Alex was left at the motel by himself and had no options available to him. He was informative and offered solutions but limited in his ability to assist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank RANDY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston in which to stay.

Upon receipt of your review the following steps were taken:

• Mr. Alex was informed of the nice things you said about him.

• Maintenance was notified of the problems you experienced with the TV and instructed to look into its repair.

• I am very sorry for the way things worked out for you.

I hope that the next time you visit here you will find your visit to be much more satisfactory.

Regards,
Hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

SAN ANTONIO
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

There's a reason why the rate is so good at only 9 minutes to downtown Houston, and it's because it''s right by the freeway, and in the back of a gas station, in a rather sketchy area. I was also woken up at 6am by beeping sound outside--sounded like a construction noise, like a big tractor backing up, etc. Rooms are also stuffy and not well ventilated. Windows have no blinds, so I had the curtain closed the whole time, which made the room so dark, even wiht every lamp in the room on, because there was no ceiling lamp. The front desk staff was great, however. Stay here if you just need a place to crash and don't want anything else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank HoJocustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston in which to stay.

Upon receipt of your review the following steps were taken:

• The front desk was informed of the nice things you said about them.

• Maintenance was notified of the problems you experienced with the window and instructed to look into something can be done.

• I am very sorry for the way things worked out for you.

I hope that the next time you visit here you will find your visit to be much more satisfactory.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

the air conditioner groaned continually at a level that prevented sleep.
We asked for a new room, but the alternative room offered smelled bad.
It is obvious that remodeling is occurring, but it should include fundamental changes like replacing failed utilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank TYLAINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston in which to stay.

Upon receipt of your review the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was notified of the problems you experienced with the air conditioner and instructed to look into something can be done.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance staff and housekeeping staff were notified of the nasty smell you reported in alternative room offered and asked to look into it and see what could be done about eliminating it.

I hope that the next time you visit here you will find your visit to be much more satisfactory.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Dear Sirs,

I am Assistant Director of a language academy in Denver (30+ employees). My business booked late (end of June 2012) for a NAFSA (educators') Conference and Howard Johnson Inn Katy Freeway was the only place with available rooms. When I arrived I noticed the room smelled musty, but since it was late I just went to bed. When I returned from the conference the next evening, I noticed mold in the corner of my room and determined to leave first thing the next day because of the hour. However, while in bed something bit me and I decided to check under the mattress (between the mattress and box spring). There I found moldy garbage: a plastic bag with some mystery material inside wrapped in paper towels as well as a mold filled serving tray which had permeated the mattress above with mold. I took photos of all this with the night manager present. I left that same evening for another hotel. The next day I was treated very rudely and sarcasticly when I called to talk about the matter. As a client I was sickened. Any hotel that allows the premises to deteriorate to the condition this hotel is in despises and resents their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the location was a good one for you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The front desk received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The room appeared to have been recently painted and was very clean. It was missing one light bulb but that was taken care of promptly. Parking would be aproblem if all the rooms were occupied but we had no problem. Breakfast didn't match what we have found at Best Westerns but it was adequate. Staff was friendly and responded to every request promptly. Major problem was the construction going on the access road and that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a good map. The access road for I10 does not always get you there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received our commendation for the level of cleanliness they maintain as our employees.

• Housekeeping received my personal commendation for the level of cleanliness they maintain as our employees.

• Staff received our commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest. Their promptness was especially commended.

• Staff received my personal commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest. Their promptness was especially commended.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#337 of 504 in Houston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#135 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#100 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing