We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people, good location, property getting tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #77 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and the location is handy for the Galleria area, although the loop can be slightly challenging. It is a reasonably quiet area. The rates are also reasonable.
The negative is the property is declining, as all do, but seemingly at a faster rate than necessary. The ceilings, walls and sometimes floors are in need of maintenance. The outdoor spa had plenty of leaves and seed pods clocking the intakes, and granted it is autumn, but the situation still exists. One jet runs continuously while the timer seems to matter little to the functionality -- it doesn't seem to matter whether the timer is used, still only one jet running all the time. Breakfast is average for La Quinta properties but with bins and serving bowls being empty and not attended during the middle of the breakfast time. The elevator is relatively slow and gives a unnerving jiggle between floors. There is no end to the dings, marks, tears, etc. that indicate general cleaning is okay but maintenance is lacking. Perhaps it is a lot of little things, but they combine to being a bigger deal. It's a bit sad to see the place markedly deteriorate every year. Everything gets older, but it doesn't have to decline at quite this rate. It's a good thing the staff seems very nice or this hotel would not have much else going for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 535 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Unfriendly staff (Anthony) the heat was not working and they did not know how to fix it, no handicapped rooms, I was freezing and they did know what to do, the carpet are all stained and dirty and the door room was scratched and dirty

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

La Quinta has a wonderful staff! MY RESPECT GOES TO DIANA GUZMAN THE ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER! This LADY should be a MANAGER!

My grandmother and I came to the post oak location, galleria on a business trip and our car passenger side was broke out by someone in Houston. La Quinta took care of our accommodations and reimbursed us for our window as well. Their security is stronger now than before. Diana listened to our concerns and they took care of us.

Our respect and loyality remains! Thanks Diana Guzman/ La Quinta.
Betty Brown and Parris Cheney

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcheney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Argyle, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a work trip. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Slow elevator but very friendly staff. Very close to restaurants and shopping. Very pretty courtyard, peaceful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were making a quick in and out trip and we like the area. I chose it for free parking, free wifi and free breakfast (more on that later.) It is a deal killer for me when a hotel charges for wifi. I hate parking charges as well but it is a necessary evil. The room was clean. The AC was good. The shower was good. In a place like this there isn't much staff in whom to come in contact. The desk was accommodating. As for the "breakfast:" free yes. No protein whatsoever. Muffins and waffles. The competitor at this price point offers a true breakfast buffet.

Stayed: October 2012
3  Thank Geoffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Austin, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed September 25, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Address: 1625 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Houston
#110 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $82 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Houston Galleria Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area Hotel Houston
La Quinta Houston
Houston La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing