We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish my stay was longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Houston
Ranked #25 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish my stay was longer”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We received a warm welcome from every staff member we encountered. Everyone was incredibly helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. The courtesy car was very convenient, the driver was friendly and knowledgeable, offering us many dining recommendations. For comfort and overall atmosphere, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments following your stay at the St. Regis Houston and for recognizing our staff for providing bespoke service and indelible memories.

Please come back again soon to the best address in Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    148
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
98
171
55
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

St Regis delivers. Beautiful, upgraded room (SPG status), excellent and courteous staff, the usual Remede toiletries, super attention to detail (afternoon turndown service, light music turned on, etc), orchids in the room. Your sense of beauty gets a boost.

Breakfast was also very nice at the adjacent restaurant.

Cons:
- valet parking is a bit absurd for $35. Suggest you park 100 feet down on the side of the street and it's free :) Yes may sound a bit weird to do this when staying at a luxury hotel; however, I also like to be given the option to valet vs. self park, and don't like to be forced into valet due to lack of options !
- Location is not the best - off of a side street - but then again, what is a good location in Houston..?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsuzsska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the St. Regis Houston as the best address in Houston being close to the Galleria and manjor thoroughfares. All luxury hotels have a charge for valet parking and the hotel's fee is in line with what one would pay at any major city luxury hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The St Regis has to be my favorite hotel in Houston. I stayed there when it was the Ritz Carlton. The service is excellent, the rooms are the height of Luxury, so comfortable. I always stop in and have a drink in the bar and say hello to Harry. He's been there at least 30 years - always greats you with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to hear from one of our most loyal guests following your most recent stay at our Hotel. Thank you for recognizing us as the best address in Houston and Harry as the
best bartender around.

Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I arrived super late to check in, and due to the time I guest the front desk agent( a guy) was sleepy and tired, but he just seemed rude and out of order( maybe because I'm in my 20's). Hats off to the concierge team and the Benz driver, and the new bellman who assisted me to the Astor level to say it was his 2nd night or so he did well. Maybe the Front desk needs some lessons from the nearby Westin Galleria you don't have to wear suites 24/7 to have $$$$.

Room Tip: Astor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel and apologize for any
misunderstanding that may have occurred on check-in. I was pleased to read that the bellman and driver took care of you.

Please come back again soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. The hotel is nice, but I wasn't too impressed overall. The only option for parking is valet. You cannot come and go as you please, and the parking charge per day is $35 USD. Many times, I called downstairs 10 minutes early to have my car ready, and when I got downstairs, I still had to wait a couple minutes for the car. Then, the valet would expect a tip...

The pool at this location is very small. There is no hot tub. The internet in the rooms is pretty fast. The hotel is very clean, the people are friendly, but the big drawback for me about the location is the lack of personal parking, slow valet service, and not having a hot tub. Is having a hot tub in a 5 star hotel too much to ask for at the end of a day?

Location is not the absolute best. There are no restaurant options within walking distance.

All in all, a nice hotel, but sadly, I won't stay here again. I need a little more functionality and creature comforts when I travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations during your recent stay at our Hotel. Yes, the hotel does not have self-parking and charges for valet parking, the price which is
comparable to any luxury hotel in a major city. We have a wonderful pool deck and fitness center, but the builders opted not to have a hot tub.

The hotel, the best address in Houston, located very close to the Galleria and Highland Village with wonderful dining possibilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband was traveling for business, so my 9 year old son and I tagged along. The hotel is wonderfully quiet and relatively small. Everyone who worked there was quite nice and helpful. The rooms were a nice size and comfortably appointed. The room service for breakfast and dinner was well-prepared, though not terribly exciting (what room service is?!). The pool is relatively small, appropriate for a hotel this size. It was really attractive. It appeared that all the guests were there on business, so my son and I had the pool to ourselves. We had a great time there and would highly recommend it for anyone traveling on business or for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
So pleased to learn that you and your son were able to join your husband on this recent business trip and that you you found out hotel an oasis of peace and tranquility.

Thank you so much for recognizing our wonderful staff, Room Service and the quiet pool and its surroundings.

Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We didn't stay at the St. Regis, so this review is not of the hotel itself but of its high tea. My husband and I have high tea all over the world, and this truly was one of the most enjoyable teas we've attended. We took my mother for her birthday to her first tea. The surroundings were more modern than most places, but it was very comfortable. We had three teas to choose from and were offered some leaves to smell beforehand to choose the one we wanted. The sandwiches were the standard fare, but the three of us decided that the chicken salad was the best we've had. And so were the homemade scones and clotted cream. They were still warm when they brought them to us. The three pastries they brought us at the end with our champagne were excellent as well. There was a harpist playing which really added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent afternoon tea experience at our hotel to celebrate a very special occasion.

The Hotel has offered tea service since it opened its doors in 1982 and we consider it a tradition we very much value and it provides a very special bespoke experience for our guests.

As a tea aficionado, your comments are especially poignant and I thank you for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 504 in Houston
727 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#34 of 504 in Houston
803 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#19 of 504 in Houston
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Houston

Property: The St. Regis Houston
Address: 1919 Briar Oaks Ln, Houston, TX 77027-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Houston
#10 Green Hotel in Houston
#15 Business Hotel in Houston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Houston is between River Oaks and the Galleria. Known for its lavish style, our hotel has luxurious guest rooms, 10,000 sq ft of event space, a spa, fine dining, and butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Houston Hotel Houston
St Regis Houston
St Regis Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing