We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly elegant but lacking atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Houston
Ranked #33 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quietly elegant but lacking atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Large elegant quiet room,comfortable bed. Lovely large floral displays in hallways. Maybe because the stay was on Sunday the hotel seemed unusually quiet almost ghostly. The Rivington bar was also very quiet. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been welcome almost all 5 star hotels provide this now. Didn't have the wow factor for me didn't find anything exceptional to remark upon. Didn't try the spa or didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Ordered room service coffee which was served promptly and elegantly.








efficient staff, huge floral arrangements

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palm-Tree-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. Yes, Sundays can be a bit quieter around the Hotel, but many guests enjoy the solitude. The St. Regis Houston enjoys a large repeat business and social clientele during the week, but tends not to be as busy with hustle and bustle on the weekends.

Glad you enjoyed the florals and the great food and service from Room Service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    153
    62
    14
    15
See reviews for
102
179
56
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are Ritz Carlton lovers, but felt that the St. Regis Galleria outperformed the Ritz. Our 3 night weekend stay was an extremely comfortable experience. The options are pricey, but well worth it. Only exception was the shock that the Spa did not offer manicures. My wife had to visit the Houstonian for that - which was an exceptional spa experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wow what great compliments you had for our hotel and staff on your most recent stay! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A big part of enjoying a vacation is to feel welcome at the hotel. The sour face of the front desk person wasn't welcoming. We booked a one bedroom suite with points, and upon booking we were told that the suite can accommodate three people. Great. Alas, when we asked for a rollaway bed for our son (the couch wasn't a pull out couch and was narrow) - we were told that we will have to pay extra $30 a night. You'd expect a room that costs over $500/night and ample space to be able to accommodate a rollaway at no charge. After further discussions and complaining to the front desk (that had changed shifts meanwhile), the $30 fees were waved. wow.

Next, we were upgraded to the same size room but at a higher floor. So what does the upgrade mean? that the room (over looking at a construction site) now has a "butler" service, like getting coffee whenever we want, free of charge. However we were told that since we got the upgrade, we don't get this service and if we want coffee, we should pay $5 a cup. We stay at hotels all over the country and abroad. When we get an upgrade, the upgrade comes with the related services. If we get the upgrade to a club level, we get the club level amenities.

The mold in the bathroom shower door didn't add to the overall experience.
The friendliness of the valet and the bellmen made us feel better at times.

I can go on and on about it, but the point is clear: the hotel policy is: if people can afford staying here, we can over charge them.
One more thing: who is charging for wifi these days??? and $12?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the St. Regis Houston recently. I apologize for any misunderstanding with regard to a pull out couch in the living room of the suites, and yes it is standard to charge for a rollaway. It was a nice gesture for the front desk not to charge you for the rollaway. We regret that the City of Houston was doing some construction outside the hotel, but this is unfortunately beyond our control. The Hotel does provide complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby every morning for all guests. Starwood Hotels worldwide has a policy of charging for internet but we will charge your thoughts on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton WA
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stay here when I come to Houston on business. They are always super nice and the hotel is quiet. Great location mintutes from everything but you feel like you are in paradise. I am always sorry I don't stay longer when I am here, staff is great and very friendly. My favorite hotel in Houston. Will always try to stay here when I visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilysMum0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
As a valued repeat guest of this hotel, your comments are even more appreciated. Thank you so much for recognizing our hotel as the best address in Houston.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed in the Westin Oaks in the first leg of my trip, and then choosing to stay at the St. Regis in the 2nd leg. The difference in quality lay in the quality of the staff. Very friendly people at the St. Regis that go out of their way to help. From the valet staff, to the front staff, to the bell boy, to the cleaning lady. Front staff also extended my room to 3pm with no extra charge. I recommend you go with a high level room, to get the great view outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Very thankful to read that you found us and enjoyed the second leg of your trip at the St. Regis Houston. Many of the associates are long-tenured and pride themselves on providing only the finest in service to our guests.

Please come to see us the next time your travels bring you to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

After reading the unglowing reviews of the JW Marriott at the Galleria, and seeing that the Westin was over $300 a night, I checked out the hotels in the area on Hotwire. I saw a 5 star property for under $300 and booked it for the one night that we were in Houston. The St. Regis is a very nice property...nice pool, nice restaurant (pricy, of course), good sized rooms. But here is the problem. This whole area is starting to show its age, and the St. Regis is no exception. The problem was the air conditioner. It ran constantly, but could not remove the humidity in the room. In fact, my paperwork in the room became soggy. Yes, I know Houston is humid and hot. However a newer unit would be able to handle the humidity. It was also on the noisy side. Service was good at the St. Regis, but just be aware of the problem that we found with the air conditioner. BTW, if you want to go to Williams Tower or the Galleria Mall, it is not walkable. The hotel has a car that can take you there. If you see on Hotwire a 5 star property in the Galleria area, this is the place as it's the only 5 star hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Room 222 overlooked the parking garage, but, hey...this was a room booked on Hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We appreciate your comments following your stay at the St. Regis Houston recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Will be going back...

valet parking is expected, but not required because you can self park across the street, but if you stay at the Regis, why self park :)

staff was awesome, they were attentive, took care of all your needs, and even though I had just one bag, they offered to bring it up...

stayed on business..

work out room was great... overlooking the pool...
bar was awesome, and the drinks were great also.

definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB_InTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your comments following your recent stay at the St. Regis Houston are much appreciated.
Yes, valet parking is required to park at the hotel, which is standard for any major city hotel.

A great deal of our associates are very long-tenured at the hotel and desire only to provide fantastic service to all guests and we appreciate your recognizing that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 511 in Houston
790 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 511 in Houston
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#32 of 511 in Houston
866 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#27 of 511 in Houston
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Houston

Property: The St. Regis Houston
Address: 1919 Briar Oaks Ln, Houston, TX 77027-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Houston
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#15 Business Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Houston is between River Oaks and the Galleria. Known for its lavish style, our hotel has luxurious guest rooms, 10,000 sq ft of event space, a spa, fine dining, and butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Houston Hotel Houston
St Regis Houston
St Regis Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing