We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Houston
Ranked #33 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a great location in Houston. It’s close to the Galleria for shopping and River Oaks and Tanglewood neighborhoods if you are visiting friends. It will be a bit of a drive if you have business in downtown however. The rooms are large and well-appointed with a desk and 2 chairs and an ottoman. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is updated and nice although not large. The Remede bath products smell fantastic! My room had a small entry way where the mini bar was located as well as a small terrace off the bedroom. So you know, parking is $29 per night, which seems high to me for a suburban location. Wifi is $10.99 per 24 hours, so not complimentary.
The staff are all very willing to help. The hotel is super quiet, which is very nice. There is a bar which appeared to be busy and happening with loud music, although you never heard a peep in your room. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if visiting Houston for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMM5226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations and experience at the St. Regis Houston. Yes, the hotel is well situated in the high-end and quiet River Oaks neighborhood, but only minutes to the Galleria, major thoroughfares, and just a little bit longer to downtown.

The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and yes, the Remede products are wonderful.
The charge for overnight parking is standard for any luxury hotel and there is a charge for wi-fi in your guest room. The Hotel does have one computer in the lobby available for guest's to print boarding passes and get information from the internet on a complimentary basis.

Many of the associates have been here for years and pride themselves on providing caring and personalized service. Thank you for your recommendation of our Hotel, the best address in Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    153
    62
    14
    15
See reviews for
102
179
56
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Smaller than average hotel. My place in Houston. Not the grandeur of others, lobby is small (actually was, since they are currently remodelling it), but very cozy and well decorated. Service is simply spectacular. All details are considered. Rooms are relatively spacious and comfortable. Extremely silent (only interrupted this last week by noise of the remodelling in the lobby, after 9 am). I use this hotel 3/4 times per year, and have maintained consistent service level for at least last 3 years. Beds are oustanding as well. Room service is fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and for being such a loyal customer for the past 3/4 years. We apprecaite that you continue to choose the St. Regis as
your home in Houston, as it is truly the best address in the city.

We are doing a remodeling of the hotel lobby to provide an even better ambience for our
guests, and yes you are right, noise has been kept to the absolute minimum so as not
affect our guests.

Many of the staff have been here for many years and pride themselves on providing
excellent, caring and bespoke service.

Please come back soon to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When I checked in I was told there was a lobby renovation going on but I would have been hard pressed to notice it... it was quiet, no visible building materials, etc.

I travel all over the world and would have to say that the customer service is the best I've experienced anyplace. The check-in was fast, courteous, helpful. I had to change my flight reservations and the concierge service was amazing - fast and efficient.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed.

Really fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Your input following your recent stay at the St. Regis Houston is very much appreciated.
Yes, there is lobby refreshment project but there has been no inconvenience to our guests
during this time, as you noted.

Our associates pride themselves on providing superb service to all our guests day in and day out; many are long-tenured and personalized service is a way of life for them.

Yes, our guest rooms are larger than other hotel in Houston and well-appointed.

Please come back again soon for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It had mold in the bathtub! Also, there is only one bar in the hotel and they let people off the streets in the bar. It was like something Id never seen before...like a meat market with working girls. Didnt not make a safe environment. We were not able to enjoy our "get away".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BabaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for caring so much to share your observations at the St. Regis Houston.
We pride ourselves on providing a phenomenal experience and we apologize if you did not
receive superb service in some areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Asked for a largish room as my daughter was staying with me at the last minute. The hotel was very accommodating. I also needed the luggage stored while I went off to Austin for a couple days AND needed to have the luggage delivered to the next Houtston Hotel (Westin) which they did for a nominal fee. Really appreciated all the services provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNL_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thankyou for choosing the St. Regis Houston for a recent stay,
along with your daughter. It was our pleasure to be able to upgrade
you to a larger room to accommodate the two of you.

The hotel prides itself on personalized service and making things
happen which our guests request.

Come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis Houston in July for our wedding night. Now, we already knew this hotel was nice as I've stayed here a few times before on business. However, things have only gotten better. First, being a SPG Platinum member (and our wedding night), we were upgraded to a very nice suite. Regarding service, Scott and the concierge team made sure the room was well set up for our return, providing many nice amenities. Further, the staff in general was very friendly. While the hotel is a bit old, it feels natural as the decor works together very well. What I'm saying is this - it isn't modern luxury, but it is classic luxury, something that we very much enjoyed. Next, the amenities are excellent - complimentary gourmet coffee in the mornings, complimentary Mercedes transport (within 3 miles), and and excellent pool and fitness center. Finally, our breakfast at the Remington restaurant was excellent. The food was elegant, well prepared, and we had exceptional service. Overall, for all these excellent points, the hotel is very well priced.

We have had the privilege of staying at numerous St. Regis properties through our travels and we would have to say that this is one of our favorite. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the best address in Houston for such a special
occasion, your honeymoon, this month. Yes, the Hotel exudes classic
luxury and many of our associates are long-tenured and pride themselves
on personal service.

Thank you for your compliments on the Pool and Fitness Center, as well
as the Remington Restaurant.

Wow - you consider the St. Regis Houston your favorite St. Regis Hotel.
Thank you.

Please come back again soon to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

First time in Houston, so didn't realise that this hotel is quite a way out of the centre. We stayed here twice at the beginning and end of our journey. We found the staff very friendly and concierge service was good. Doorman was very good and made sure we knew exactly where we were going. The rooms were very comfortable and everything to a good standard. Its irritating though to have to pay for a not all that wonderful wifi connection.

The restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner but with few diners it lacked atmosphere.

Breakfast was all a la carte and a buffet option might have been sensible.

Room Tip: First time we stayed we had not much of a view. Second time a view of the Houston skyline which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisHouston, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Houston, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your first stay in Houston, the best address as
very close to the World-Class Galleria for shopping and convenient access to major
streets and highways to get in and around Houston, while still being in the luxury
River Oaks area.

Thank you for your compliments on our associates, many of which are long-term with
the hotel and pride themselves on providing luxury service.

It is Starwood's (our parent hotel company) policy to charge for internet service in guest rooms, but this hotel does provide a complimentary computer in a private cubicle complimentary to guests to access their email accounts, print boarding passes and access the internet.

We appreciate your comments with regard to the Remington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 511 in Houston
790 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 511 in Houston
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#32 of 511 in Houston
866 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#27 of 511 in Houston
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Houston

Property: The St. Regis Houston
Address: 1919 Briar Oaks Ln, Houston, TX 77027-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Houston
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#15 Business Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Houston is between River Oaks and the Galleria. Known for its lavish style, our hotel has luxurious guest rooms, 10,000 sq ft of event space, a spa, fine dining, and butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Houston Hotel Houston
St Regis Houston
St Regis Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing