We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, marginal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Houston Marriott North
Ranked #126 of 516 Hotels in Houston
US
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good property, marginal location”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Close to Houston George Bush Intercontinental Airport. 15 Minute van ride. Van is shared by the nearby Hilton. Stops running at midnight. Right next to the highway and the rooms have a small amount of noise fom the highway. Older style airconditioning was slightly noisy, but kept the room cool. Rooms have been renovated and are in good condition. Bathrooms are small, but functional. Front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection of food. Fitness centre and pool was clean and very well equipped. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ip241au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    179
    83
    20
    22
See reviews for
65
51
58
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a very unique stay. Check in was smooth, I had our key cards in about 2 minutes. The hotel wasn't over whelming, but it was very functional. Our rooms didn't sparkle, but they were clean. Requests for extra towels were taken care of expeditiously.They need to get someone to keep the front entrance clean. Here is where it gets unique or odd. We were in town for the AAU National Jr Olympics and we booked this hotel for a 4 night stay. I used my points for 1 night, my wife's points for 2 nights, and we paid the negotiated AAU price for our final night. . After getting back to the hotel after the first night, we tried our key card to access the elevator, and low and behold the cards didn't work. We went to the desk to let them know that cards would not work. We were told that we had checked out and the cards had been deactivated. The young lady saw that we were booked for 4 nights and re activated our cards. After the third night, we get back to the hotel and tried our key cards on the elevator and again were denied access. We head back over to the front desk and the young man at the desk informs us that our cards were deactivated because our 4 night stay was broken down into 3 reservations, 1 for my points, 1 for my wife's points, and 1 for the night that we were paying for. They were deactivating our cards, because we were required to check back in each day. We were told that is how their system works and there were no apologies. And finally on the morning that we DID check out, our rate was double what it should have been. After speaking with the night auditor, I was informed that the rate was correct, because according to his computer,I booked an checked into the hotel on yesterday. I needed to have booked my room 3 days ago. I explained that I booked our room 3 months ago and that I have been a guest in the hotel for the last 4 nights, and again he tells me that his computer says.....I was told that someone would call me in the next twelve hours to straightened this out. That call never came, but when the charge came through, it was the correct rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband got us this room on Priceline for $40. It was a fantastic deal. The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable, and we were close to the airport for our 5:20 am flight.

We did go for a quick dip in the hot tub. The pool area was clean and it was a relaxing end to our day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you have a flight to catch or for a longer stay. The beds were extremely comfortable!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songstress815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had a very short layover in Houston - check-in after midnight for an early morning flight out of IAH. So, I didn't get to try out any of the amenities of this hotel. But I can say that it's a solid airport hotel. Beds were comfortable. Air conditioner was a bit loud, but not terrible. Bathroom was small, but adequate.

Getting on the shuttle in the morning was, in my mind, the biggest issue with this hotel. There wasn't enough room and 1 person waiting was not able to get on. I would hope that the hotel has a back-up plan if this happens, but I would plan to be waiting outside some time before the shuttle arrives just in case.

Overall, a standard airport hotel. I would stay here again, but would just be cautious about the shuttle situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here two nights for a business trip. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. Food and service were good. No complaints. My only reason for staying at this location is to be close to business meetings. This is not the best area of Houston. It is quite close to the airport and I believe the hotel has shuttle services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
993 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a pretty standard Marriott hotel. The lobby has been remodeled and upgraded. The rooms are comfortable with a great bed. They have the updated TV and work area. The concierge lounge food was below par for a Marriott. It is only a few miles from the airport so it was easier than staying downtown for an early morning flight. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at Houston Marriott North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Cubfaninco,

Thank you for your review! I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our recently revitalized hotel. One of my favorite parts of the update is that we now offer true HD television service in all of our guestrooms. I sincerely appreciate the feedback about the food in the concierge lounge. Your comments are the best tool that we have to succeed. I trust that we will meet or exceed your expectations on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is close to airport, features a wonderful DEN restaurant for b,l,d and a full bar. The rooms are beautifully decorated with heavenly upgrades not found in my other hotels in my Houston stay. The staff is what will make me stay here exclusively. The DEN staff are fabulous! Warm, gracious and attentive. Housekeeping kept my room freshly and tidy without excessive noise bright and early.

Room Tip: I was on 5th floor and couldn't hear neighbors or those above !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at Houston Marriott North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind review. It is fantastic to hear you were pleased with your room and found the housekeeping and DEN staff very friendly. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Houston North
Hilton Houston North
#79 of 516 in Houston
1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency North Houston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston Bush Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Houston North
Courtyard Houston North
#235 of 516 in Houston
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston Intercontinental Arpt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott North

Property: Houston Marriott North
Address: 255 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77060-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Houston
#76 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houston Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Marriott North welcomes you to enjoy our newly refreshed hotels rooms in Houston, TX - for business or for pleasure. We invite you to make us your home away from home, near George Bush Intercontinental Airport and Greenspoint Mall, and we will treat you like family while you are staying with us. We offer our guests free transport to and from the airport, and we have comfortable accommodations waiting for you. Our hotel rooms in Houston, TX are filled with delightful amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, and deluxe bedding. We provide a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool, and hotel restaurant and bar - DEN - for your convenience and enjoyment. Houston Marriott North is a top destination for Houston event space, as we boast 15,000 square feet of meeting and conference rooms for your business function or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott North Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing