We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Music Venue”

McGonigel's Mucky Duck
Ranked #496 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: McGonigel's Mucky Duck is an intimate listening room for nationally known touring acts by evening and a warm, inviting Irish pub by day.
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Music Venue”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great small venue for music. We saw a Cheryl Wheeler show and everything about it was terrific. Very good food & wine. Good seating. the sound was very good. A thouroughly enjoyable evening. Try the pot pie combo. Very tasty. Good portions. Definitely will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theduckess, Owner at McGonigel's Mucky Duck, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Simon-
So happy to hear that you enjoyed the Cheryl Wheeler show! We always look forward to Cheryl's trips to Houston-hopefully she will be back next Spring. Thank you for your kind words about the Duck. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy the "wee three" and please be sure to introduce yourself as a Trip Advisor reviewer-we would love to thank you personally for taking the time to share your Duck experience.

Warm Regards,

Rusty, Teresa, Shane and all the Ducklings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Music and Food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Houston owes a lot to the Mucky Duck. Reliably good music groups and consistently good food make for a great combination that a city as big as Houston just cannot do without.

Service is good especially considering the close spaces and the entertainment going on.

Find a flavor of music you like and try this great institution.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theduckess, Owner at McGonigel's Mucky Duck, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you Zepper!

We are happy to hear that you appreciate the Duck-please know that we appreciate you!

We are coming up on our 25th anniversary so we feel like we owe a lot to Houston.

Thanks to you and to all who have supported the duck over these many years.

Rusty, Teresa, Shane and all the ducklings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what I needed!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were in Houston for a Trade Show and I planned for us to go here based on the #1 Tripadvisor rating and the high ratings by the Visitor's Bureau. I would agree hands down! We went on a Wednesday night to see Patrice Pike for the first show and then the Irish entourage after. Patrice has quite a following and I can see why. She flies in to Houston every Wed. to put on a free performance. Incredible voice! I am hoping her tour will bring her my way. The Irish players were awesome--first 5, then 6, more came to play--8 in all. It was most enjoyable! It was too bad there was not room to see a jig! My husband and I had the fried cod meal--very good! If you want a cozy, relaxing, get away from the city, but be only a few minutes drive away, this place will not disappoint. Get there early, the place gets packed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsymommaOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theduckess, Owner at McGonigel's Mucky Duck, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Gypsymomma-

We are so happy to hear that your visit to the Duck was enjoyable-it is always a great joy to learn that we made a traveler's journey to our city more pleasant. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will stop this way again.

Many thanks!

Rusty, Teresa, Shane and all the ducklings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Looking for fun in Houston?”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

For a cozy atmosphere with good music and food and drinks Mucky Duck is our favorite. Traditional Irish Pub with rustic decor. Always a good band. Nice place to entertain your out of town visitors. Wide assortment of beers and wines. Food is good too. I recommend the Salmon or the Fish & Chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great music. Great service!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite spot for an evening out with friends. Also a great place for lunch and happy hour. The staff is always friendly & very attentive. A must stop if you're visiting!



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelsalot6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theduckess, Owner at McGonigel's Mucky Duck, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We received notice of your very nice review today just in time for our staff meeting! What a great way to start a busy Friday.

Thank you Travelsalot! We will do our best to remain a favorite spot for you!

Warm Regards,

Rusty, Teresa, Shane and all the ducklings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGonigel's Mucky Duck also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to McGonigel's Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing