We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Soma Sushi

Soma Sushi
Ranked #1,091 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Cross street: Durham and Shepherd
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is some of the best sushi I have had and I have had a lot both here and in Japan. I have not been to the ultra-high end establishments but for great sushi that is not ridiculously priced, this is the place.

They have nice selection of sake as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhultgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Nice ambiance”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Everything we ordered was very good, fresh and delicious. However, our waitress brought us our appetizers and two minutes later she brought us our entrees. We felt rushed, at least to eat our entrees while they're hot. We were enjoying the ambiance and wished we weren't rushed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely need to try the happy hour!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We dines at Soma during Happy Hour and were very glad that we did! My husband and I love to try new things and the less than $9 happy hour specials were perfect. We had the Edamame, which is a staple and a good indicator as to the rest of the food to come - it was perfect. The Spicy Tuna Tartare, Chicken Wings, and Pork Gyoza were all very good - but chicken wings took the prize spot! Crazy Irishman sushi roll and the Thai Soup was excellent! We would definitely recommend this place to our friends and it would be a fun spot for a Saturday evening out with a large group of friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAYS_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi restaurant with an interesting menu”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stopped into Soma on an early Tuesday evening ( about 5:30). There were some diners there but plenty of tales open as well as the sushi bar where we sat. My friend and I each ordered one dish off the happy hur menu which was fresh and nicely prepared but relatively pedestrian. She ordered soup which was lovely, and I ordered tuna sushi with truffle oil which was spectacular, and scallop with Asian pear jam which was OK but not special. The service was quick and attentive, and parking is easy. The meal was moderately priced.a

Helpful?
Thank Dracidephgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelgirltx25
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our neighborhood sushi restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

With the influx of sushi restaurants in town, Soma came in a few years ago and has become a staple in the Heights/Washington/Upper Kirby area. Their food is consistently great, providing tried and true options as well as daily specials. They have a great happy hour Sun-Thurs after 5pm. The service is usually pretty good. Overall, this is our go-to neighborhood sushi restaurant and we'll continue to go!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirltx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soma Sushi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Soma Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing