We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic modern and surrealist collection!”

The Menil Collection
Ranked #10 of 293 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the greatest private art collections in the U.S. features such surrealist works as those by Salvador Dali and Max Ernst, and offers visitors a sign-free and simply-designed environment in which to experience the art in a more personal way. The main building is accompanied by four satellite buildings.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic modern and surrealist collection!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

this was such an unexpected treat. the menil family collected such wonderful works of modern art. worth the $10 suggested dontation, it sits near the rothko chapel. you can see the alternate paintings for the chapel in this collection too. just wonderful if you enjoy that period of art!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank troymoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    166
    39
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was hiking around Houston with a great group of people - the Bayou City Outdoors group. They have planned and guided hikes, outings of all sorts, backpacking and camping trips, etc. for their members and guests. I was on a BCO hike when we came to this unassuming-looking building in the middle of a neighborhood, and our guide suggested that it would be a good place for a break. It was amazing! They have quite a collection of artists' works on display, in a beautiful gallery setting. They accept donations but do not charge admission fees. It was hard to leave to continue the hike! If you happen to be in Houston, look them up - it will be worth your time and effort to go there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb, unique museum”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had been wanting to visit this very special museum for a long time, as I am interested in Surrealist art, of which they have a famous collection. I was not disappointed: the display was wonderful and the selection of works a thoughtful balance between the better-known and unfamiliar but enlightening. Best of all was the room of Surrealist "witnesses": objects which inspired the artists--a treasure trove of weird and wonderful material. I regret I didn't have time to see more of the museum, which is in a beautiful, spacious building in a leafy neighborhood. It is a complex and includes the Rothko Chapel and Byzantine chapel, as well as a Dan Flavin light installation--all worth visiting, I'm told. Next time! The bookshop is excellent and very informal, in a little cottage across the road. They really could do with a cafe or some source of refreshment, however--it's a long way from any restaurants. It is also a bit hard to find, and a long walk from the Museum District metro stop, so make sure you can give your cab driver good directions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ahberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Menil Collection”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this museum! I did not expect to see such great works, such as Andy Warhol, etc.
Nice atmosphere and admission is FREE! It is handicap accessible, as I went with my 82 year old grandmother in a wheelchair. She also enjoyed the "Love" exhibit. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank taed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding collection of 20th century art”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This small museum houses a very impressive collection of masterpieces of 20th century art, to include works by Magritte, Miro, de Chirico, Warhol, and many others. The park-like setting is an oasis of tranquility in a large and hectic city. The adjacent Rothko chapel is also worth a visit. Furthermore, admission is free (although a donation is suggested). A "must-see" if you are in Houston, and have an interest in contemporary art.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Menil Collection also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Menil Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing