We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”

The Houston Museum of Natural Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Houston Museum of Natural Science General...
Ranked #7 of 271 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This outstanding science museum has a spectacular collection of mineral specimens, a dinosaur skeleton, space-station models, a planetarium, IMAX theater and a six-story butterfly center in which these beautiful creatures land delicately on outstretched arms.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

We needed an indoor activity to avoid the heat of Houston and we are glad we settled here. My favorites were the gem exhibit and the Egyptian. Kids go to the dinasaurs of course.

Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonHMNS, Public Relations Manager at The Houston Museum of Natural Science, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We love to hear feedback from our patrons. Hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"butterfly exhibit"
in 299 reviews
"egyptian exhibit"
in 100 reviews
"paleontology hall"
in 88 reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 85 reviews
"gems and minerals"
in 76 reviews
"energy hall"
in 60 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 49 reviews
"gem vault"
in 47 reviews
"texas wildlife"
in 44 reviews
"energy exhibit"
in 42 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 114 reviews
"imax theater"
in 82 reviews
"all ages"
in 212 reviews
"museum of natural science"
in 103 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 94 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 69 reviews
"traveling exhibits"
in 56 reviews
Filter

688 - 692 of 4,528 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2017

The Museum was reserved for group as an evening event. What a great place. We saw a special exhibit on Mummies and enjoyed the exhibit on Egypt and Gladiators and the Amazon. We were there several hours and didn't begin to see everything. It is informative, fun and definitely a place to return to!

Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonHMNS, Guest Relations Manager at The Houston Museum of Natural Science, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We love to hear feedback from our patrons. Hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

This was one of our stops on the Houston City Pass we purchased. This was a great museum and had lots of information. I loved it but the wife not so much. She said too many Dino bones. Great exhibits and nice clean place to visit. They have several places to eat and get places to get some souvenirs. I had a great time. They had some "extra" money things to get a few more dollars. Like a soaring ride over New York and a Dino Ride. This should take around 2 hours of your time maybe little more.

NOW FOR THE PARKING. THERE IS A PARKING GARAGE. MOST PARKING GARAGES I HAVE EVER BEEN ON CHARGE AN HOURLY RATE. WE ENTERED AND WERE OUT IN AROUND 2 HOURS. THE FEE WAS $20.00 TO PARK. THIS WAS OUTRAGEOUS. MOST OTHER ATTRACTIONS WERE $8.00 A DAY BUT $20.00 IS CRAZY SO BEWARE.

Thank Wade_Moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonHMNS, Public Relations Manager at The Houston Museum of Natural Science, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We appreciate feedback from our patrons. Hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

One of the best museums I have ever visited. Especially loved the Hall of ancient Egypt, and my children loved the Butterfly's and Dinosaurs.

Thank sarahturbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonHMNS, Guest Relations Manager at The Houston Museum of Natural Science, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We love to hear feedback from our patrons. Hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2017

As a geologist and grandfather have never seen a better display of fossil organisms. They are arranged time-sequentially from oldest to youngest with the best array of incredible fossil specimens I have every seen. The butterfly exhibit will actually coat you with tropical beauties in a spectacular rainforest setting. The other exhibits are wonderful as well, Add in the several Imax shows and the children's hands-on opportunities and, well, you can spend a productive and educational day with ease.

Thank Nonewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonHMNS, Public Relations Manager at The Houston Museum of Natural Science, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We love to hear feedback from our patrons. Hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Houston Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Houston Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing