We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my grandkids love visiting and shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chocolate Bar

The Chocolate Bar
Ranked #2 of 140 Dessert in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“my grandkids love visiting and shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

if you like good tasting candy, ice cream and cake you cannot beat this place. my grandkids love Candylicious next door for shopping basket fun after eating a treat next door!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vxctor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    45
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Giant Cake Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enormous multiple layer cakes, rich cheese cakes and divine ice creams are just the beginning if the chocolate treats available at the Alabama and University locations. Unique ice cream creations make this a special place for ice cream and the cake selections are larger in variety and larger in size than you would see anywhere else. Plan on ordering coffee with your cake. The size of the offering and the richness requires the coffee to finish it all. Older adults, yuppies, teens and children are in the Chocolate bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Thin Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If heaven smells llike chocolate, I hope it smells like the Chocolate Bar. Awesome homemade ice cream. Decadent chocolate cakes. Great coffee. One of our favorite places to go after a show.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Refrozen Ice-Cream”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Refrozen Ice-Cream. I think local places are not an ice-cream destination for me. I will stick with a name brand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate, chocolate everywhere! Chocolate lover's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I met some friends there and didn't have time to look at everything! There are over 20 different ice creams to choose from - they will give you a taste so you can refine your selection. I had 3 different ones (sorry, can't remember names) and they were all fabulous - all had some kind of chocolate in them. They also sell 4 layer cakes - abit pricey but look fabulous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Chocolate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing