We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best for extended stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best for extended stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in Houston are expensive and frequently booked up so I tried the Lexington in an attempt to save some money. This property is for the traveler looking for an extended stay particularly if the need is to be close to one of the many medical centers. It is not designed for the one night business traveler. The rooms are large and have almost a full kitchen with a large fridge, microwave, dishes, classes cutlery and a dishwasher. The rooms decor was okay and the level of cleanliness seemed high. The parking situation was different as it was directly across the street in a locked and well lit lot. Entering always required a key card even to walk to your car but the added security was a plus. The complimentary breakfast "forget about it" and seek another option. Also, the front desk wasn't manned until after 9:00 a.m. So if you need an extended stay then the Lexington may be a good choice. For a one night stay I recommend considering options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TexasNolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are coming to the Houston Medical Center area, I would recommend you stay at Lexington Hotel. Especially if your stay is longer than a week. MD Anderson is .7 miles away from the hotel. The hotel provides free shuttle service to the Medical Center or if you feel up to it, you can walk. The rooms at Lexington are large and all have a small kitchen. A two burner stove, fridge, dishwasher, toaster oven, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, pots and all the things you need to bring a bit of home into your stay. The ability to have some tea, make a sandwich or some soup after a day at the Medical Center is very comforting. Sometimes you just don't feel like going to a restaurant. The hotel even provides shuttle service to the local Kroger and Super Target so you can buy the foods you like to put together a meal. The hotel provides free parking in a secure lot. They have a small pool, small exercise room. The beds are comfortable and they have daily maid service. Free wifi, laundry room, gift shop, cable and access to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The room rates are reasonable. Lexington Hotel is quiet. They have great maid service. The water pressure is good and the towels big and fluffy. The hotel is not a luxurious hotel, but is clean and comfortable. Most of all, the staff at the hotel are kind and very helpful. They will drive you and pick you up from the hospital at the times you need them to do so. Even late at night. Sarah, Jose and Tony and are wonderful people who care about their guests and work very hard to make the guest comfortable. My husband and I are very happy with our two week stay at Lexington Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayamaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was at the hotel for nearly 2 weeks. I needed to be close to the medical center and I didn't want to rely on a shuttle service. I had no car and parking is expensive.

The room was probably 300 square feet with 2 queen beds. There were 2 tables, one in the living area and one in the kitchen area. All the usual dishes and silverware were there. The refrigerator, toaster oven, range, and microwave all worked fine.

Security to the parking area was excellent- controlled by your magnetic room key. I thought there would be a way in out w/o the card (the gate closed before I got out and left). But no, you have to use the card and open the main gate. This is probably better security.

As others have commented the breakfast is not extensive. A small room off the lobby with juice, milk coffee sweet rolls and toast. One of the cereal dispensers had animal crackers in it- a first for me. Remember you have a nice kitchen in your room with a coffeemaker and they provide the little packets of coffee. I just used the breakfast area once.

The hotel will transport you to the medical center or Kroger (grocery 0.4 miles) and on weekends they will go to the Super Target 1.2 miles.

My only disappointment was the wifi. It is unlocked (no password) but was quite weak at times. I had a lot of dropped signal problems and resorted to making Skype calls from the doors in front of the lobby.

I did laundry on site which was very convenient (but took a lot of quarters) lost a key card (they replaced it for free) and had other occasion to ask for help from the staff. They were great.

I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Lexington Hotel at the Houston Medical Center is really a great place for an extended stay. The rooms are large and have a nice kitchen area with a regrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, range top and dishwasher. The table can easily seat 5 and includes all required dishes. The beds were very comfortable with a pillow top. The only complaint that I had were the continental breakfasts. There were cereals, including coco puffs, suger frosted flakes, and fruit loops. There were oatmeal pies, pieces of cake and cookies. Not my idea of a healthy breakfast in the fattest city in the US. There was fruit (although sometimes the bananas were green) and applesauce--but for a gluten free person, breakfast just didn't do it.

Room Tip: The top floor is the best to keep from hearing your upstairs neighbors--the second night, my neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were going to a concert in the Houston downtown area. I booked this place based on positive reviews here and the affordable price. We only stayed for one night but I was really impressed with the value for your money hear. You get a room that is not quite a suite but does have a little kitchenette and is larger than your standard 2 queen bed hotel room. The hotel was clean and the parking area is well lit and gated (although the gate was not closed). This place is not brand new but you can tell is was remodeled in the last 5 years or so. This place is only 10 minutes from the downtown area and I got my room for $70 less than some of the other chain suite hotels were charging. We will stay here again if the need ever arises.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayL1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The room was set up almost like a studio apartment, with kitchen area, dining table, chairs, & of course 2 big beds. Everything was clean and comfortable. There isn't much of a lobby area, and no associated breakfast area. My only criticism is that the advertised free breakfast barely meets that definition, with coffee, canned juice, some prepackaged snacks, some individual cereal boxes, and a few pieces of fruit. Nothing hot. If your goal is to do your own meals in your room, it should be ok for you. No outside noise was a pleasant surprise, since the hotel is not on the freeway like many others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnakmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed 2 weeks at this hotel while dealing with the medical issues of a close relative. The hotel was just what I needed. It is convenient to the Medical Center, and they offer I shuttle to the Medical Center which I did not use.

My room was huge. It was great to have the kitchenette. Everything you could need, except for a full size oven (there is a toaster oven) is there. There are plenty of dishes, pots and pans, and flatware. I especially like the full size refridgerator.

The room was super clean and well maintained, and the beds were super compy. They have lots of cable TV stations. The staff was friendly, flexible and helpful.

One word of caution. The parking lot is across the street. It is well lit, and I never felt uncomfortable. Just be careful if you are alone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleosKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
University Place
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center

Property: Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center
Address: 1025 Swanson St, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing