We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, hotel itself needs facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
Ranked #118 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service, hotel itself needs facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights due to a business trip. The service here is excellent! Everyone is so friendly and accommodating! The room itself is interesting. There is first a living room when you walk in, and then the bedroom is farther in the back, and you can close the door to the living room. The layout is thoughtful. The rooms have been remodeled so they are fine. However, the walls and floors are paper thin. We heard screaming kids next door and could hear people above us stomping and even talking. The building itself looks like it's from the 70s. Yellow and purple paint is not a flattering combination, or the popcorn ceiling. What we disliked most was that there is an open kitchen on the first floor and you can smell food as soon as you open your door, since all the rooms face inward into the open center courtyard. If they ever remodel, I do encourage the management to close off the kitchen so we don't smell bacon in the hallways.

The free breakfast buffet is fantasic! You get so much food and made to order omelettes, eggs, pancakes, or waffles. The fruit is fresh and yummy. The staff are super friendly.

Definitely ask for a room on floor 5 and above, or else you can hear very clearly everything in the lobby and eating area. The beds ar a tad too soft for me, and the pillows were terrible. They are the feather kind that go flat immediately. The wifi is free and very reliable and fast. The air con is a bit weak. We had to turn it to 72 degrees in order to fall asleep and stay cool. If you close the door between the living room and bedroom, then the air con doesn't flow well into the bedroom, and it becomes hot and stuffy.

Overall, the stay was fine, although I wouldn't want to stay here again unless my work said I had to. This place definitely has potential- a hardcore exterior remodeling would really help. I give the staff 5 stars!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Muppetsarecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. We certainly apologize for the inconvenience you were caused due to the Air con problem in your room. We have recently upgraded our entire unit which has eliminated any air con issues. We hope you will give us another shot. Our mission is to exceed every guest expectation. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    122
    43
    26
    29
See reviews for
170
85
51
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on a trip to the USA from Sydney, Australia. We enjoyed the pool, the restaurant and the good service at this hotel. Management went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We ate at Olive Garden restaurant next door to the hotel, which was convenient. We also shopped for groceries at the Mexican supermarket three blocks away, which was good.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway are quieter, as are rooms on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Australia!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay with us. We certainly thank you for choosing our hotel. We know there are many travel choices for our guests. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We will share your comments with our management and entire staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to Houston.


Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My daughter is a student at HBU and when I visit I found that this is the place to be. I am IHG Rewards Club Member and have been staying at one of the other properties. My wife and I just love this hotel, everything about it from the greeting to the checkout. The food is first class from the breakfast to the dinner. I will be back this is just a great place to stay when in Houston on this side of town.

Room Tip: "8th floor suites is where I always stay"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl_G_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff here are always helpful and professional all the time. The room and public area designs are captivating and unique in design. This hotel is great for family fun or and even business meetings. Excellent experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryScott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for you feeback of our hotel on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a great experience at the hotel - The check in staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms clean and shower was great. No issues with noise, beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel seems pretty new as well. Hotel Atrium was impressive. Has a indoor pool and hot tub as well but we did not use them.
If you are in Houston and need a place to stay in this area, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: King Suites have nice mattress which I love the most and sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ygor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are overjoyed to hear about your fantastic stay with us. We hope on your next visit you get a chance to enjoy our indoor pool, fitness area and jacuzzi. We promise you will not be dis appointed. We look forward to serving you in the near future.




Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The check in process was fast and the front desk were friendly. We were pleased to learn, on check in at 1pm, that our room was available. I was even happier when I went to my room and discovered that it was a 2 room suite with a king size bed. The suite was beautifully decorated and very modern. It was packed with an array of amenities such as a wet-bar, refrigerator, 2 televisions, an aromatherapy kit and luxurious bedding which made our experience at this hotel all the more enjoyable. The suite was impeccably clean and extremely comfortable. The hotel also provides free wifi that was lightning fast, definitely the quickest speeds I have ever experienced in a hotel.
This hotel has excellent service and is modern throughout. I even had a chance to eat in the restaurant and again the service levels and attention from the staff could not be faulted. I had breakfast each morning in the restaurant too. They have a buffet with a wonderful selection of fruit, scrambled eggs, potatoes, meat, pastries and a cooked to order omelet station. Its good value if you are hungry and want variety.
We visited for a work conference and had a great experience. A definite recommendation for such conferences.
All in all, a five star experience, a wonderful stay in a good part of town.

Room Tip: Become a Priority Club Member and ask for the Sleep Advantage Package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMan305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations on becoming a new IHG Reward Member!! You will now enjoy one of best frequent stay programs in the hospitality business which include late checkout 2pm, reward points never expire, free wifi, and Express check in. We hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is an old Embassy Suites that has been purchased. It is the old style with the central atrium and the rooms have glass doors. The door idea is very poor since the curtains son'[t cover the windows very well. The setting certainly dates this hotel, it is a little retro.

The room is clean and has a separate sitting area away from the bedroom. There is a freeway right outside so you might experience some freeway noise. IF YHOU ARE TAING A CRUISE, THIS IS A TERRIBLE LOCATION, IT IS A LONG DRIVE TO THE CRUISE TERMINAL.

The staff were friendly but lacking in general information of the surrounding area or the hotel itself. The front desk is not run very professionally.

They do include a free cooked to order breakfast that was decent.

I have a hard time recommending this hotel since I did not like the front of the rooms being all windows with poor privacy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr49phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear mr49phil,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Houston Galleria Area
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
5.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Westchase
17.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Northwest Cy-Fair
6.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Property: Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
Address: 9090 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77074-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Houston
#90 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Suites is a smoke free facility and is the best value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. This all suites hotel features, two flat screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble & granite counter tops, balconies, modern furniture & fixtures and superior amenity package throughout the 440 sq. ft. guest suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing