We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
Ranked #121 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and got a great price on the room. Liked the suite style rooms that felt spacious for a longer stay and allowed us to put our 7 year old to bed while we stayed up. Hotel was convenient for the attractions we did on the Houston city pass including museums, NASA and Kemah boardwalk. Also close to the Galleria mall. There was a problem with the room we were initially given and the front desk staff volunteered a very generous comp to make up for it - great customer service. Restaurant in the hotel was very reasonably priced but there are also plenty of other dining options in the area including an Olive Garden and Saltgrass steakhouse right next door. Small business center in the hotel was great as it allowed me to print out a couple of things I needed. WIFI internet access was free as was parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Matt C,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are music to our associates ears. We hope to see you soon on your next visit. Thank You.

Sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 637 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel. Although we arrived at a late night hour, we received excellent service from the associates. The hotel is very clean, organized, and the staff is neat, clean, and very courteous. We stayed on the Executive Level suite, and we were impressed how spacious it was. Nice place for company meetings and conferences. We like the layout of the hotel as all the rooms face the open floor area. Nice bar and restaurant as well. - D. Salang

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Dinno S.,

We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our hotel goal is to exceed each and every guest expecations. We are glad to hear you had a great experience! We hope to see you soon on your next visit. Thank You.

Sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited Houston for a conference at GRB convention center with a friend. I couldn't find any hotels close to downtown under $350 a night. I came across this hotel offering a suite for less than &150. It is about 20 minutes from convention center and I didn't hit any major traffic. Parking is free at this hotel. The receptionists were extremely nice and helpful, always smiling and very accommodating. They offer free shuttles to anywhere within 10 miles radius, and Galleria is that close!). The room was huge!! 2 queen beds, a living room with fridge, sink, coffee maker, and a pull out sofa bed too!! Our stay was great and I will def go back there next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on 8th floor are in the quiet zone. Buy the breakfast deal online and it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Chefdimo,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I'm thrilled that you were able to stay at our hotel and get a great deal. We appreciate the comments regarding our staff, shuttles, and hope to get your continued business when return to Houston. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

Sheldon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is by far one of the best, if not the best, places to stay when visiting Houston. It is family-friendly and still accommodating to the business traveler. Very clean environment, with a nice bar and dining area. Breakfast IS NOT the typical continental breakfast - guests have the option of eating from the HOT BUFFET or have something custom made. AWESOME!

Room Tip: All room are good rooms. However I would advise you to join the hotel club for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAuguste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear VAuguste,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your comments. We'll make sure we pass on your comments to each department and hope to see you'll again soon.

Thank you,
Sheldon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

In for a business trip, my sister asked me about good places to stay close to our side of town. I have always had good experiences at this Crowne Plaza, so I suggested this location. They all had nothing but positive comments about the hotel. Very clean, the rooms were large and very comfortable and the staff were all very friendly. They said they would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Bill Q,

We want to thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comments with us. Our entire staffs greatly appreciate your compliments. I will pass on these comment and we look forward to seeing you'll again soon.

Thank you,
Sheldon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with my son's baseball team while playing in a tournament close by, and the Crowne Plaza Suites was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. The staff is exceptional! JohnPaul helped me with our group reservations, and he was not only extremely helpful and accommodating but also took time nearly every day to seek me out to see how we liked the hotel and to ask about the team's progress. The night manager Sheldon was equally personable and accommodating, as was the entire front desk crew. The restaurant was fabulous - great food for all 3 meals with very friendly waitstaff. Both the kids and the parents really enjoyed the plentiful seating in the lobby area, with plenty of tables for the boys to play their card games. We also enjoyed the indoor pool - spacious and nice. One thing the website didn't mention was the little patio area with tables, chairs, and chaise lounges off the pool, which our group spent most evenings on - a very nice surprise. The 2-room suites were plenty spacious - my family of 6 was very comfortable, never cramped - and the mini-fridge and microwave were very useful. Our group also liked that all the rooms overlooked the spacious atrium and that the elevators were glass, so it was very easy to keep tabs on the kids no matter what floor or elevator they were on. Added bonuses for our group were the 2 restaurants located on either side of the hotel, Salt Grass Steakhouse and Olive Garden, which we walked to several times. Also, an Academy was located around the corner - most convenient for a sports team. In a nutshell, I loved this hotel and would totally stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Pam K,

We want to thank you'll so much for your review of our hotel. The kids were very well behaved, respectful, and seemed to have lots of fun in the hotel. I'm really happy the weather was nice and you'll were able to enjoy the outside sitting area for the team meetings after games and dinner. It was a pleasure taking care of the teams needs and I know our entire staff here at Crowne Plaza Houston Suites feels the same way. Good luck to the team and we hope to see everyone again.

Thank you,
Sheldon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Finally got around to writing this review. Stayed here awhile back and it was a perfect stay. We stayed in the executive level (which I will say was nice to have no neighbors with kids) and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. Some people think the location makes this hotel noisy due to the freeway being so close. I looked at it a little more utilitarian. With the freeway so close it was not complex to get here and I heard no freeway noise during the stay. Overall it's a place to stay thats worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCReeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear JCReeve

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am very happy you had a perfect stay with us. A perfect stay is what we want for every guest and it's something we strive for each and every day. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sheldon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Address: 9090 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77074-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Houston
#71 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $106 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Houston Suites – Near Sugar Land, your best value for luxury suite accommodations. We're located within minutes of Reliant Stadium, Galleria Mall, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing