We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C+ Hotel Trying Hard to Get B-”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
Ranked #109 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“C+ Hotel Trying Hard to Get B-”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here on business with family in tow. The special conference rate made the overall experience worth it. But on the whole, this hotel doesn't warrant the excessive adulation it seems to receive in the TripAdvisor reviews. The good: the housekeeping staff provided us exceptional service! The less good: despite obvious efforts to refurbish and maintain, the hotel is old and shows signs of wear. The suites, while adequate for a less than $100 per night price, are not enormous. (Compare with something like Clarion Central in Madison, WI or even Marriott's Residence Inn in Waco, TX.) A hotel like this should really offer high definition TV, not regular cable with pictures "snowier" than a UHF station. And when you're really not in the luxury league, a hotel's breakfast should be free for the family, not rationed by tickets ($11 per for additional). Still, I admire the tenacity of a staff trying to maintain a good business in a difficult location with a facility that has seen better days. You'll get a decent sleep in a clean room. But it's not 5 stars.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Philosloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Philosloth,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the housekeeping staff. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    132
    46
    26
    29
See reviews for
181
87
53
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

All services were excellent!!!! The pool was indoors, great room, comfy beds, great customer service, we ate all of are meals here and the food was excellent. If you don't want to eat at the hotel there is a Salt Grass and Olive Garden right next door you can walk to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistymoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteMélanie
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was clean, convenient and the staff very helpful. Suites are spacious et convenient to prepare light meals. Wi-Fi, 2 TV sets. Dinner and supper aat the hotel were good and inexpensive. The spa and the swimming pools are covered and nice. Rooms on the frotage are noisy due to traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Christiane L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Very clean and people were veey friendly. We had my 4yr old niece with us, staff was very cooperative and friendly with her as well. Indoor pool area was very nice and breakfast was great. Really enjoyed having the paper dropped outside our door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swtbrandero1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved this hotel;) their indoor pool was amazing!! The staff was just as great. They were very nice. We loved our room, it was very spacious. My kids slept on sofa bed & enjoyed watching tv & acting like they were having a camp out. Lol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KrystalS601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I rented 10 rooms as part of a group. the feedback from my group was excellent. everyone loved the large suites. their full breakfast was great. half of the group took advantage of the indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The free WiFi and their business center was very convenient. location was also great, just off the highway and next to a mall. plenty of restaurants options nearby not forgetting the Olive Garden right next door. this was our first time at this hotel but will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coachAl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I like Crowne Plaza. Everything is good.
People there are friendly and helpful.when we stayed in your plaza ,we had delicious breakfast,then kind drivers took us to Rice University to get trained. After we finished a day, they came to meet us on time.Our room is comortbale and tidy .Thank you all.I hope to see you again some day.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wangtong299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Property: Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
Address: 9090 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77074-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Houston
#90 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Suites is a smoke free facility and is the best value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. This all suites hotel features, two flat screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble & granite counter tops, balconies, modern furniture & fixtures and superior amenity package throughout the 440 sq. ft. guest suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing