We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not thrilled”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove

The Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Crawford St.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
393 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Not thrilled”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

2 of us had lunch at the grove and my chicken dish was the special of the day and was just plain odd. Coffee was not hot and sever was kind of spaced out. My friend had a chicken sandwich and salsa and chips as an appetizer and said both were okay. Our bill was $55 without any alcohol. We would not return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    211
    92
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Grove is one of my favorite places in Houston. The restaurant has a very trendy decor with fantastic cocktails. The food is always impeccably prepared and served. It's a great place to enjoy a nice dinner and then stay for a few cocktails. Wrap-up the evening by taking a stroll around Discovery Green.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Get the ginger margarita and the Texas pecan and brown butter cake for dessert. I thought I was going to pass out I was so happy! Everything I have had at this restaurant was amazing. The bar staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the servers are excellent. They have high end training so it is a great place to bring clients. It is beautiful at night. I have eaten here with a vegetarian and she was catered to perfectly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to grab a bite if your at a convention at the Hilton Americana”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Valet park your car ath the hotel and when finished wih you business at the Hilton directly and conviently across the parking lot is the Grove. Good food decent serving sizes and good atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at Best”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food was very good regarding taste. The wine seletion was average but delivered nicely. Extremely long wait time as we were in there 3 hours. The portions of the selections were quite small. Good food, long wait with small portions

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing