We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort but needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horseshoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Checked in and did not receive a map of the property. We figured one didn't exist so we tried to explore on our own. Only hotel I have been to that doesn't have instructions on how to call room to room by the telephone. Nothing in the room describing amenities at the resort, hours, etc. Finally found the Yacht Club and kids were enjoying the beach. We went to the pool for 20-30 minutes and came back to the beach to gather our belongings when someone stole my kids buckets and shovels (but left their toy cars). Also, woke up on the last night with a live bug in my bed...It was not a bed bug. Not a pleasant experience. When talking with the Manager about not receiving a map, he listened to what I had to say but did not seem concerned. It looks like the Manager writes responses to the positive reviews posted here....hmmm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunshine530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Sunshine530,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. It is customary for every guest to receive a resort map along with hours of operation for all resort amenities at the time of check-in. We apologize for the oversight and will continue to train our front desk associates on standard practices. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for a second chance to impress you.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 892 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Although my trip was business, I would joyfully return here for a weekend trip. The valet, bell, catering, and sales staff were all extremely professional, prompt, and always helpful. Amberlee in the Sales department met me each morning with a smile and to make certain that everything was ok. When I had forgotten to order hot water along with coffee for our meeting room, she quickly attended to my request. There were bout a thousand teenage girls there for a dance camp, but they too were courteous and not overly "lively" near our meeting room thanks to a QUIEt PLEASE, MEETINGS IN PROGRESS sign that Amberlee tended to right away. When I called for a bellman to help me with my bags when it was time to leave, he was at my door in less than five minutes. The king beds were divine and the room very spacious and immaculate. Outdoor fire pit was a nice way to end the evening. The lunch service was by far the best I have seen (been doing event management for 20years)...very fresh breads, beautiful meats, bountiful salads, and a polite and helpful staff who did the setup and take away swiftly and quietly. Onsite dinner was very good, and the wine list was outstanding. (We went to nearby River City Grill for one meal and was disappointed.) I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyMamaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear CrazyMamaCraig,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that Amberlee took good care of you and your group. Our staff is always going above and beyond for our guests so we will be sure to pass on your compliments to her and our culinary staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon...perhaps for some leisure, rather than business.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I recently attended a wedding in Marble Falls and stayed at the Horseshoe Bay Resort. The service was wonderful and the resort was very nice. We ate at Lantana and the food was great. I would definitely recommend this resort if you are looking for an upscale setting with great service in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1mlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear 1mlm,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our food and service met your expectations. Located in the heart of the Texas Hill Country, we focus on providing genuine Southern hospitality to all of our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

Warmest Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I grew up spending my summers on Lake LBJ thus I was looking forward to the conference at Horseshoe Bay Resort. The resort, although some renovations have taken place, certainly shows its age. Service at the restaurant with the exception of the breakfast buffet was slow and inaccurate. If the resort wasn’t so far from everything we would have dined off premises but we were stuck – more or less. The rooms were just above average for a hotel of this size and price range (it was a conference so we didn’t pay for the room). We did rent a pontoon boat from the resident marina and we found it to be in good working condition and at a reasonable rate. I’m not sure how the liquor sales are at the hotel over all – but I can assure you that had we had any service at all at the pool they would have doubled their sales for the weekend. We ordered a burger and fry while at the pool and it was 75 minutes before it showed up – at no time during the 75 minutes were we asked for refills on our cocktails nor were we offered an update as the whereabouts of our food order The pool water was too cold (only people getting in were children) however the hot tub was too hot (again only people in were children). The lake itself was beautiful as were the views of the lake from the hotel Check in and check out were quick and easy The front desk made a quick correction to my bill in which I was charged three times for the same thing without question. Although I will return to the lake I doubt I would spend my own money to stay at the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deanhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear deanhv,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We take great pride in providing excellent service to our conference groups in all areas of their stay, including any leisure time on property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the pontoon boat on Lake LBJ but your experience at the dining outlets is unacceptable and certainly not the norm. In the future, we hope you'll give us the chance to impress you and provide the level of service our guests are accustomed to.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Everything was beautiful, the grounds perfectly kept, the staff was friendly. The Chef, Brian all the staff at the yacht club were great! The sunset cruise on the lake was awsome, Tucker couldn't have been a better guide and more enjoyable to be wtih. Jet sking, and riding the pontoon boats I had a wonderful time and will do this again soon.

Room Tip: I like the Paseos the best, it's a family oriented room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akiyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear akiyaw,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you made time to relax on our sunset cruise. It's a wonderful treat especially since Lake LBJ is a continual level lake surrounded by such beautiful property.

Our staff is always striving to make the guest experience top notch so we will be sure to let Chef Brian and Tucker know you mentioned them here. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

Warmest Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Everything was first class. We ate at the resort for dinner and buffet breakfast and the cowboy ribeye steak we had was the best we have ever had in a restaurant. The golf courses also were first class

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Progolfer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Progolfer61,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your experiences at our restaurants and golf courses met your expectations. We will certainly forward your compliment of the ribeye to our Executive Chef and his culinary team.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Horseshoe Bay Resort at the end of May with a large wedding party. Check in was a dismissive & disappointing experience as we were simply shown a circle on a map to find our room in the Paseos & no bellman offered to help with our luggage. We had to ask twice for the gift bags from the bride that were reserved for us behind the front desk while the staff acted as if they didn't know about it. (the wedding party designation was printed all over our paperwork).
Once we found our room and began to settle in, we found several strange stains on carpets, bed linens and even chairs (photos included) as well as mold in the soft caulk of the showers. I don't know about the main tower rooms, but the paseos seem to be neglected. Only six hangers total between four closets and major wiring issues with the light fixtures flickering on and off at random forced a call to housekeeping. They came through with an armful of hangers, removed the soiled bed linens and a maintenance man came to check the lights, then told us to leave them off because it was wiring, not a loose bulb. Maintenance man never came back. I do realize we were part of a very large group & these accommodations are sometimes rented out long term (more wear and tear to be expected), but for the 'discounted' room rate we got, we were still very disappointed. And beware the pool floor in this section of the hotel! After one visit to the pool, the bottoms of our feet were raw and stinging as if we had run a marathon in fiberglass shoes. I don't know what the bottom of that pool is made of, but you can skip paying for a pedicure and just shuffle around in there for a few minutes.
Room service prices were high enough even before we read the fine print of a $3 delivery fee and 21% service fee, so we decided to place a to go order with the Lantana Grill half an hour before they closed for the night. The operator transferred us to room service without telling us and they were extremely rude saying we were trying to order something not on the menu. Well, not off the room service menu! Two wedge salads and add chicken...how difficult can this be? After being chastised by the overly confident room service rep on the phone who bragged about in all of her "two years of being in room service" expertise, we finally realized what the operator had done and that we were not talking to the restaurant staff. Our tab ended up being $30 for two wedge salads with four slices of chicken. Not impressive.
However, the blue crab bisque, avocado chicken salad and mojitos at the bridesmaids' luncheon were absolutely wonderful as was the surf & turf rehearsal dinner! We decided not to eat unless it was a scheduled event for the rest of our stay.
The wedding and catering staff did a fantastic job on all the events during our stay, but somehow were not very friendly, even when just approached to thank them. On the other hand, we really appreciated how pet friendly this resort is and the little things they provide for those traveling with four legged family members like "Pet In Room" door hangers to alert staff and well maintained walking trails. We most likely won't be in this part of Texas to stay here again, but I would consider trying the actual hotel rooms instead of paseos to see if they would be of better quality for the cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jennlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear jennlu,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We strive to make a great first impression with our guests so we are disappointed to learn that your check-in experience was not up to our standards. Our culinary team takes great pride in delivering exceptional cuisine so we're happy to hear you enjoyed the food offered at the wedding-related events. Your experience with Lantana is certainly not the norm. We hope you'll give us a second chance to "wow" you should you return to Central Texas.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horseshoe Bay
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marble Falls-On The Lake
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
#3 of 7 in Marble Falls
266 reviews
23.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Llano
16.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Resort

Address: 200 Hi Cir N, Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657-5824 (Formerly Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Horseshoe Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horseshoe Bay
Price Range: $190 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horseshoe Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** Newly Renovated** Winner 2017 Conde Nast Reader Choice Awards and 2018 AAA Four Diamond Award. Texas' Premier Golf and Lake Resort located 45-minutes west of Austin in the heart of the Texas Wine Region. Situated on the shores of Lake LBJ in the heart of the Texas Hill Country, Horseshoe Bay Resort is a AAA four diamond lakeside golf resort providing full-service amenities, luxurious accommodations and unforgettable vacation experiences. From our three, award winning golf courses and our luxurious day spa to four swimming pools, tennis courts and family friendly lake activities, we invite you to come experience genuine Texas hospitality at an extraordinary lakeside vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott Hotel Horseshoe Bay
Marriott Horseshoe Bay Hotel
Horseshoe Bay Marriott
Horseshoe Bay Resort Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing