We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with room to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chakphong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the hotel with my wife and 3 months old son. My first impression of the hotel is that it needs to improve the service. Per hotel reservation notice, the check-in time is 2 pm. Despite arriving at 4 pm, my room was not ready.
For me, this is not acceptable for the hotel with Marriott name. Upon settling in to our room, we found a bottle of cleaning liquid left behind by the cleaning staff. They must be in the hurry to cleaning up our room.
Another let down for us is the bed. It is too soft and both my wife and I had a back pain after spending a couple of hours on the bed. She had to move to the sofa bed while I spent the night on the floor. This is one of the worst bed we have experienced in our travel.
Saving graces for the hotel are the location and the property. Our ocean view room is great. But that's about it. We'll give Novotel a try next time around this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khumpeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 815 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

An exquisite property with modern design and beautifully landscaped gardens and big swimming pools.

Perfect sea views from our room which was very spacious and had one of the best rainshowers ever.

Very comfortable bed and pillows. Well soundproofed room. Did not hear a thing.

Location is on the minus side as it is far from anything and the beach is nice for walks but not ideal for swimming.

Excellent breakfast but:

staff does not prepare tables as they should. Had to ask for forks, knives and napkins after we sat and again when we changed plates. Better give a set of 2 from the beginning. We also waited for 15 minutes for a fresh orange juice and a coffee latte. When they arrived we had almost finished.

Sofa on the terrace of the restaurant was dirty.

Shower floor at the edges has little mold.

The negative comments are destined for the hotel to reach 100%





  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a family get-together here over Christmas and were blown away with how beautiful the place is, how professional the staff are, and how pampered we felt. The lobby area has a fantastic panoramic view looking over the sea. The rooms are very modern and luxurious. The only slight niggle i would have is to do with the open plan style bathroom that seem to be all the rage these days. They are good in the sense that the bathroom area is no longer dark and dingy, and you can relax in your bath whilst watching tv, but the downside is it kind of feels a bit like sharing a prison cell with another inmate, in that when you use the toilet, you don't really feel like you have left the bedroom. They are sliding divider walls but they don't really make much difference and who can be faffed to constantly open and close them?

Anyway, that minor niggle to one side, the rooms are beautifully finished and the views from the full length windows are lovely.

The buffet restaurant had an amazing variety of food. Not all of it was perfect quality, but there was so much to choose from that if you didn't like something, you could just try something else.

For Christmas there was no extra charge for the meal, which was great, although perhaps a bit more in the way of entertainment would have been good. The staff did sing some Christmas carols though which was quite touching.

All in all, would definitely go back. It has the wow factor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TongueThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked in last minute for the weekend. Nice hotel close to the beach with a lot of pools, greenery, etc outside. Clean room, not big, but you mainly sleep there so good enough. Good restaurants with local and international food - acceptable prices (there are no local restaurants outside the hotel area). The big test is always Sunday breakfast - capacity is obviously not built for peak hour. I still feel this could have been managed much better - the queue to get a table and the "re-fill" of empty dishes/food was far too slow. Another experience is that the bill from the restaurants was wrong both dinners we had there and had to be corrected. Should be unnecessary. All in all a good experience, but doesn't achieve full score due to breakfast and wrong bills.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank torejohnsen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I was on vacation with my family during the December, great check in experience, outstanding kids club, clean pool and landscaping and great restaurant options. Special thanks to Khun Suppasak that overlooked my family on the Restaurants been over the entire property looking after people with a great smile, to all restaurant and housekeeping team for great service and Khun Elle and Khun Monica for keep this property running well. I am definitely come back!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Cadu Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading the reviews, we were looking forward to staying at this hotel. We are Platinum Members and have stayed at many of the Marriott properties. The hotel is beautiful and the location is ideal; right on the beach. Unfortunately, that is where the standards of the Marriott ends. Starting from when our room wasn't ready at time of check-in (we arrived at 3pm and check-in is supposed to be 2pm). No Members lounge, so were asked to wait at their bar off the entrance (but no food or drink offered, except for the normal welcome drink offered to everyone). We had a car from Bangkok, so we were on the road for 3 hours and were starving. After we finally were allowed in our rooms, we went to the Fish Bar (by this time, it was 4:30pm). Having a bar, right on the beach, we were deeply disappointed to find out they only serve food for lunch (until 3pm) and dinner starting at 5:30pm, with spring rolls and french fries available in between (really?!?), which we were told were sold out (really?!?). We then went to the Water Bar (which was the only place serving food) and were told it would take a little longer, as they told us they had to get the food from the Fish Bar (what?!!). After watching the sunset, while eating at 1800, we went to our rooms to rest. The staff at the hotel needs major training, from the front desk clerk at the Members Table, to the staff at the restaurants (Food Bar (ignored by 22 yo son, who was waiting for a table), C-Salt (ordered coffee with milk and sugar and received hot chocolate), and Food Bar again (where my 23 yo daughter ordered a drink and watched the bartender read the recipe from a book). The only saving grace was the young man at the Concierge desk who went above and beyond and helped us book a scooter. We have a few more days with the kids, then had planned on extending another week, for just my husband and I. After only being here a couple of days, we're not sure if we'll stay the whole time or check-out early. We may end up going back up to Bangkok at the Renaissance Bangkok or jump over to the Renaissance in Phuket. The Staff are as gracious as the Thai people always are, but they just haven't had the proper training to have things run smoothly. We hope they can turn things around in the near future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Ereecka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice place and surrounding but due to a large number of people, they did a absolutely not-well-managed. Staffs were friendly but not so much attentive or kinda uneffective problem solver. Family and I booked for 2 rooms but they got ready for us just 1 room and let us wait for a 2nd room to be ready about almost 1.30 hrs with no sorry and call for any progress!! I had to call them about 4 times and they just said to me "in progress sir, We can't tell you about exact time sir!"Good job Marriott! And another problem was inoperative water supply!!! Firstly the water was extremely slowly flow which made taking a bath or shower difficult and unpleasant. And then about 8pm even the flush was not working. Aha! Well done 5 Star Marriot!!! I had to call 'At your service' to know that they had problem with water supply and in progress of solving AND surely again with no sorry and any exact time can tell. And the last one was breakfast. Due to fully booked guests, the only one restaurant for breakfast was not not enough and sufficient. So when I and family left the restaurant on about 9am we saw two long queues there. I was just wonder when they knew that their hotel was fully booked Why didn't they made another restaurant to be in operative breakfast? And again well-managed Marriott! Nevertheless, from breakfast, we met maybe 'Julia Gerhard'(not sure about this), she really friendly and a good problem solver. As I and family came to restaurant for breakfast, the Thai staff was said to us to wait cause we had about 4 adults and 2 children and there is no seats and tables available(at that time there is no queue yet). Thai staff let us waited at a java cafe where was in front of the c-salt restaurant which the place for breakfast. Then we met Julia who was really friendly, she said Good Morning with a beautiful smile and when I told her about problem, she got in the restaurant to see any available seats and tables but sadly there were not any available for us. However, Julia offered us to have a seat in cafe and enjoy breakfast. She was really friendly and effective problem solver. As Thai staff let us waited in cafe but Julia let us eat here! Thanks Julia for making any good memory here!

In conclusion, from my last trip the 4 good things are wide range of facilities (especially for kids), nice surrounding, good beach view and a delicious and a variety breakfast. And the problem I and family have found are slow check in, inattentive staffs, ineffective problem solver and not well-managed. I have to say that the problem we found may due to a large number of people on festival and holiday period. But Can't I and family expect the 5 Star and Marriott for the more well-managed and more effective problem solver?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanyaphong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chakphong
0.9 mi away
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
7.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
#3 of 10 in Klaeng
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Centara Q Resort Rayong
Centara Q Resort Rayong
#5 of 10 in Klaeng
95 reviews
10.1 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
637 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#11 of 62 in Rayong
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 99 / 5 Moo 2, Pae-Klaeng-Kram Road, Chakphong 21190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Klaeng > Chakphong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chakphong
Price Range: $125 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
205 Room international hotel on the beachfront. Offers 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 coffee/pastry shop, fitness center, Quan Spa with 8 treatment rooms, underwater music in our island view pool, 140 meter lagoon pool and dual waterslides with an aquarium. Children can access Kids' Club and kids' raindance pool. For groups, we have a grand ballroom for 340 people, 5 meeting rooms and several outdoor spaces to enjoy functions at manicured lawns or at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing