We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio; good food”

The Blue Goose Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice patio; good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food is good at BG Cantina and the patio is a really nice place to hang out while eating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Queso!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The first taste of this queso turned me into an immediate fan! Served in a tortilla "bowl," this stuff is awesome, and other ingredients can be added (I added guacamole). Check out the brunch menu (the brunch tacos were wonderful! Mexican food isn't my big "it," but Blue Goose has me ready to come back often!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great, fun atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I LOVE Tex-Mex, so there's the full disclosure. Have eaten here several times while visiting the family nearby. Excellent patio, fun for kids to watch the dancing waters (and the airplanes flying on final approach to DFW), great chips and salsa, great queso. Eat the fish tacos! Eat the yummy chipotle I-don't-know-what-it's-really-called tilapia. This is Tex-Mex, sure, but there's a nice fresh twist to it. We ALWAYS have excellent service, so be nice to the waitstaff, and you will, too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat_Drink_Luv_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favorite local restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I eat here about once every ten days or so. Service and food are typically always excellent. Like most Tex-Mex locations, food is served pretty quickly, so if you want to enjoy chips and salsa, don't order too quickly. They have homemade tortillas, but you need to ask your server for them unlike the chips, which are delivered to your table basically as you sit down.

The restaurant is very popular and can get very crowded (i.e 30+ minute wait time) on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Margarita's (at least the house ones) are served i a mug, which is not my preferred glass for that drink -- but that is a pretty minor issue.

The biggest issue is the lack of parking in the shopping center where the restaurant is located -- this isn't the restaurant's fault, rather more a result of how the center was designed. You will eventually find parking, but you might have to walk in the North Texas hit for a bit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_KarenDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oh man.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'm not a huge fan of Mexican food, but this- oh man, it's the best. On the somewhat rare occasions that I do crave Mexican food, this is the place I crave. I have never been disappointed with service, price, a long wait (even though they are ALWAYS busy), or bad food. From the salsa to tacos to tamales to enchiladas, Blue Goose is always up to par. Did I mention they make their own tortillas? Delicious!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenTTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Goose Cantina also viewed

Highland Village, TX
Flower Mound, TX
 

Been to The Blue Goose Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing