We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great country food”

Koffee Kup Family Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Hico
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK but not great country food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My first trip to the Koffee Kup. I was seated quickly at a table near the door. I ordered the chicken fried steak which was good but you could tell that it was frozen. Veggies were excellent. The Peanut Butter pie was one of the best I've every had. I will stop again as I pass by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    94
    50
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pie is a little Pricey”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've been to the Koffee Kup back when it was the Koffee Kup Kafe but it has been at least 25 years and have no recollection of my visit. My spouse and I stopped for pie and coffee. The pie was good (peanut butter and black forest is what we got) and the coffee was strong. This is a plain, no frills place. The only negative is the pie prices are a little high. It was almost $5.00 a slice but the service was good and quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food's ok, but the pie's sublime”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Come for the food, it's fine, but the pie is the attraction. Take your pick, they are all great. And, if that's not enough sweet walk over the Wiseman House Chocolates. As good as the pies.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greasy Trap should be the name.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate here recently. I had a cheeseburger w/ onion rings. The meat was burnt & less than an inch thick. It was a bun piled w/ lettuce, onion, pickle, & a whole jar of mustard. Onion rings were good, but really greasy. my son had a corn dog & it was literally dripping w/ grease. gag. i had pecan pie, it was dry & stale. i LOVE pecan pie ($4.99/slice) & i have had better from the frozen food section @ the grocery store. my son had a dish of ice cream that was practically melted when he got it. When we asked for some that wasnt melted, she replied, "well ya know,it's hot outside." soo that means your ice cream is melted?? My son ended up getting sick w/ throwing up & diarrhea that night & the next day. Narrowed it down to either the corn dog, ketchup, or ice cream he ate. Service was slow & it is so cramped & loud. Will not ever return. Way overpriced & overrated!! I nearly pasted out @ our nearly $55 tab (excl tip)for 3 adults & 1 child. all we had were 2 hamburgers,1 order onion rings, chicken strips, corndog, 2 pieces of pie, & 3 teas. We could have eaten @ a really nice steakhouse!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busymamaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's all about the pie!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is Texas pie at its best. The food itself is spotty. I've had some great home cooking here, but also some pretty mediocre meals. The atmosphere is pure small town Texas. So, come between meals and hunker down with a big ol' piece of pie and some iced tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koffee Kup Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Koffee Kup Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing