We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramada Hewitt - Good price for location”
Review of Ramada Hewitt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hewitt
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hewitt
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend recommended the Ramada Hewitt as a place to stay when visiting Waco. Because of the excellent price during Baylor Homecoming weekend, my family stayed there (I hesitate to give away this secret, as hotels at good prices are hard to find that weekend).

The hotel is just one exit past the Highway 6 exit, so it is fairly close to Waco. The hotel was built about a year ago, but for some reason there is still construction going on in front of the hotel which may just be repairs. There is a strange fountain and lighted columns in front surrounded by a small picket fence, which do not go with the nice limestone decor on the front of the hotel.

The entrance looks nice with a two-story lobby, but there is a frayed rug on the floor which does not give a good impression. The guest rooms are fine and have a flat-screen TV, with a bathroom that is a nice size. The air conditioning in our room didn't work well, which is not a good thing in Texas ... even in November.

The breakfast is fine, but it seems like it was purchased at Costco.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear TeamTex,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. Recently our hotel entrance cover was damaged by a vehicle and it is currently under repair. Your suggestions and comments about our decor is greatly appreciated and we will put it into consideration. We hope you had a wonderful homecoming weekend at Baylor. Thank you for your patronage and we would love to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 468 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Ramada is new, clean and very convenient. We picked it because we were traveling with our cat and they are pet friendly. We were also very relieved to have a very safe and secure spot to park our boat right under a security light beside the building. The breakfast was nothing to brag about but we are not big breakfast eaters anyway. Our room had a Dallas Cowboys decor which was kind of cool. We will most likelly stay here again next year on our annual migration to south Texas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing us a quick review. We're ecstatic that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Our parking is fully light along with security cameras to provide our guest with a strong sense of security when parking their automotive outside. We love pets and we understand how importantly it is to have them. On behalf of my staff, we thank you for your business and your kind mention of future visits to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were visiting our student at Waco and found this fairly inexpensive hotel, just about 10 minutes from the Baylor campus, south on I-35. It got good reviews by other travelers, so we decided to give it a try.

The hotel room was clean and comfortable, and relative to other hotels near Waco, fairly inexpensive. We got a good night's sleep...and that's what is most important.

I think the owners/hotel chain consider this a 2.5* hotel. In my honest opinion, it's definitely NOT that. I would say more like a very nice 1* hotel, or an average 2* hotel. Whoever did the construction did lots of "short cuts." The bathroom fixtures were not installed correctly, so lots of gaps at corners, etc. There are no vanity lights above the bathroom sink (so it makes it harder to put on make up, or to shave in the mornings). They picked the most unusual tile floor for the room/bathroom. The sheets, although freshly laundered, had permanent stains. Again, just little things.

If you need a clean, inexpensive place to stay in the Waco area, this place will work. Nothing more. Nothing less.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time off and writing us a review. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We're glad that you had a wonderful night rest in our comfortable room. Our rates are very competitive for the room/amenities you're getting around town. We valued your opinions and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There were several parts of our stay that wasn't as good as the previous year. First there were repairs/construction being done to the outside of the hotel which wasn't very appealing. Secondly, there was a water stain above the shower (I was on the first floor). Lastly and the most concerning is our checkout. Upon reserving the room directly with the hotel, they were informed we'd pay in cash in order to avoid the several days authorization on our debit card. However as usual I gave them a credit card number to hold the reservation as requested. When a part of our party checked in (by the general manager) another card was requested to hold, he was informed they were already given a card however he said he needed one to slide. The person checking in gave it to him but again informed him we were paying in cash. This was acknowledged. Upon check out 2 days later, we were informed the entire room charge had been charged to the card that was swiped. This could've been a huge ordeal given we had the funds to pay for the room in cash and not in the bank account it was charged to however luckily there were enough funds to cover it. I asked if they could issue us a discount because this could ultimately result in overdraft fees at the bank and the girl helping said she could not and apologized. I was very unhappy about this and also the fact they were not willing to accommodate a discount for their mistake (discount even as small as the rollaway bed for 2 nights which by the way was very hard and uncomfortable).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing us a review about your stay. Upon check in, our hotel policy the reservation holder must have a present credit card in person so that we can swipe it into our system. Any credit card numbers taken over the phone is to hold the reservation and won't be charged until the date of arrival where the guest present us the card. When we swipe the credit card, the system will put an authorization hold of the full amount of the stay. If the guest did not want any authorization hold, they would pay the full amount in cash before checking in. I do apologize if that wasn't explain to you. I do understand that the small repair outside our building isn't appealing and we are fixing it as fast as possible. Please contact me via TripAdvisor so that I can credit you a partial discounts of your stay. Please understand that my staff aren't authorize to make any changes in billing without my prior permission. We hope your next stay with us will be a pleasant one and we thank you for your repetitive business with us.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

They threw away my retainers!

I was well prepared to rate this experience at 5 stars until I realized the housekeeping threw away my retainers for my teeth. When making my complaint to the front desk host, her response was "you shouldn't have left them out if you didn't want them thrown away" Really? The housekeepers are supposed to clean around my things, and at the least move them to the side. But throwing people's things away??
The hotel manager, Hugh, was kind about the situation, although being kind does not replace custom made mouthpieces that are going to cost an arm and a leg to replace. I have made my complaint with Ramada's corporate office and depending on their response, I may change this review.

It's a shame. Such a beautiful hotel, ran by such irresponsible and unsympathetic people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Deidra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time off and writing us about your concern. I do apologize if the retainer were missing from your room. Per our conversations, we went to the room and check it many times and asked all housekeeping staff if they have seen it. I understand it can be frustrating for you, but upon our inspection of the room multiple times, we could not find it. My housekeeping staff are trained not to throwing anything away unless its in the trash can. We thank you for your patience and we hope you can change your mind about us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
OZONA
11
Reviewed October 26, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Obviously a well managed property, the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We felt that it was a good value. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausage and hot waffles in addition to the usual continental breakfast. We used the refrigerator to cool drinks for our visit to the park and the microwave for popcorn. The soap and shampoo smelled great. I really love the way the blankets are inside sheets and the remote for the tv was disinfected. It feels much cleaner that way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank lsm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieuRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hewitt, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Huntsville,

Thank you for taking the time off to write us a review. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to know that our hotel amenities was able to accomedate you for many reasons. We like to keep everything clean in our hotel, even down to the remote which is always disinfected. We thank you for the kind review and we hope to have your business again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hieu Tran
254 732 9823

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hewitt
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#1 of 2 in Hewitt
172 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near University
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodway Waco South Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waco
5.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hewitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hewitt

Address: 778 Sun Valley Blvd, Hewitt, TX 76643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Hewitt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hewitt
Price Range: $84 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Hewitt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Ramada Hotel located in Hewitt, Texas, near Waco and Baylor University. Each beautiful room features contemporary decor, 32 in HD flat screen TV, free WiFi so you can do your thing and leave the rest to us at this new Ramada. Enjoy the free Deluxe Continental Breakfast for each registered guest. Kids under-18 stay free in the same room, same bedding, with the adult that they accompany. If you are traveling to Waco for a Baylor University Parents Weekend, Baylor Graduation, Baylor Bears Football or other Baylor event, the Hewitt Ramada is close enough to the Baylor campus for you to enjoy the event and have some free time. We are located only 1 mile away from the Hillcrest Hospital. We are not pet friendly and only accept ADA certified pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hewitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing