We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hempstead
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were in Hempstead for an early Thanksgiving with friends. They did not have a hotel recommendation, so I picked based on fewest negative comments in the reviews, and it’s location. When we arrived, the desk clerk said he did not have a suite room as I reserved – I did not reserve a suite. We got what we wanted –- a regular king. They have a very loud and irritating chime on the office door, good for them I guess, that seemed to go on forever.

The room was rather stark and had a noticeable unpleasant sweet odor. It was clean however. The only chair was the desk chair. The safety instructions say to double lock the door, but there was no deadbolt mechanism. The TV remote did not work, but was fixed promptly. It was VERY noisy, no room-to-room sound proofing, well into the early morning hours. They advertised high speed internet, but there was no clue in the room and it would have disturbed my wife at the time I wanted to use it to ask for help. Couldn’t get dial-up to work.

We prefer something a little better than this and will have to come up with something different if we come back next year. I had lower expectations based on the price, but I was still disappointed. I kept telling myself that it was okay for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

My room was clean and fresh each day of my 5 day stay. When I reported to Harry, the manager, that a lamp had a brocken switch, I had a replacement lamp within 5 minutes. Harry greeted me by name each time we met. Since I am a smoker, I usually have the same ground floor room on my infrequent trips to the area. It was very nice to have a coffee pot in the room (with enough creamers and sugars to enjoy more than one cup) and not to have trapse down to the lobby in my robe to get my morning eye opener. I understand the hotel is under new management, since my last stay, and I appreciate the improvements Harry has initiated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longleggedkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

It was okay, but I'm not sure how much it was due to not paying for the room. At the time I looked into pricing it was close to $30 cheaper than the price I'm getting quoted now. If I was doing a long drive and needed rest it would be sufficient. As far as finding a place to stay with my significant other, this is probably not a place for romance. There really isn't too much to offer since there isn't any other hotels in the Hempstead, TX area. There is a Best Western that would be about 20 minutes away, which is in Brenham, TX.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergy_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. I spent 11 days in the hotel. The manager (Harry) was wonderful and very helpful to me I was from out of state. The room was very clean and comfortable. I was made feel welcome and all of my needs were met. I would recommend this place to anyone who will to be in the area of Hempstead.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharirod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

This is a basic motel property for someone who needs a room in the Hempstead area, rather than a tourist spot. Room was clean but had new carpet smell. Wall air conditioner unit with on/off, not thermostat setting. AC was off when we arrived. Room had bed, large TV, couch, refrigerator, ironing board and basic toiletries. Motel is near highway but we could not hear it with door closed. We arrived at 10 pm and left at 8 am so we did not interact much with staff. There was some type of continental cold breakfast as well, but we had other plans.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrhoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Okay, this hotel is worthy of the time for me to do another review because I think people should know how nice it is. This was our second stay as we are vendors at a local festival twice a year. As you can see in my previous review we were really pleased the first time. The second stay was just a great or even better than the first. The hotel was maxed out (it is small) with a wedding, festival goers etc. Usually that is when you see a problem or two, but not at this one. Everything was quiet, clean, and under control. Our room was perfect, everything was working properly, new ironing board, tv etc. Coffee, juice, waffles and honey buns were available EARLY every morning in the lobby.
This property is under new management by a husband and wife team and they were very attentive to everything. The wife was especially nice and kind.
Accomodations are limited in the area but even if they weren't I would definitely stay there again. As a side note, I think there is going to be a name change soon to America's Best Value Inn. Keep that in mind when making reservations in case you can't find a listing.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catbeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

We were in town for a wedding. The hotel came recommended, but had quite a few problems. The bed covers were torn and the shower curtain
had mildew. There were only two lounge chairs by the pool and each had mildew. We tried to arrange for a later check out - but management was not accomodating. We had to pay extra to have the room
for 2 more hours. When we left, the parking lot was almost empty. The
only pluses were that it was by a Sonic and McDonalds.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank The5travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hempstead
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waller
9.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waller/Houston
2 mi away
Summit Inn & Suites
Summit Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Hempstead
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
218 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
2.9 mi away
Hempstead Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2145 Fm 1488 Rd 290, Hempstead, TX 77445-9675 (Formerly Best Hempstead Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hempstead
Price Range: $59 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing