We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeeelicious!”

The Thirsty Parrot Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Hempstead
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have dined at The Thirsty Parrot many times and we have never been disappointed. The burgers are exceptional. They feature a substantial beef patty and all the trimmings on your choice of bun. We always select the jalapeno bun as it adds just the perfect zing to an already scrumptious sandwich. The ambiance is down home biker bar / beer joint but don't let that scare you away and do not hesitate to bring the kids. This is a family oriented beer joint that is clean, comfortable and friendly to everyone even if it is a bit of a trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timdenchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little bar”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The waitress always knew our drink orders even before we ordered (and we weren't frequent barhoppers). They were always friendly, and they actually do have several LIVE parrots in the back area towards the patio. They have nice bands on the weekends, as well as karaoke and other activities during the week. My husband and I used to frequent this bar every other weekend when we lived in that area. During the afternoons, they also have incredible hamburgers and fried mushrooms!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great burger joint off the beaten path!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We live in the area and visit this establishment about once a month. This is the quintessential roadhouse bar-n-grill, so don't expect a fine dining experience. In fact, on nights and weekends, this place turns into the local watering-hole and biker bar, so the family atmosphere is primarily during lunch through early evening. The "parrot" is well known in the area for their burgers which are served on a sweet, jalapeno bun. Burgers are hearty portions, so ladies may want to share. There are plenty of options for those who are watching their waist-lines including salads, grilled chicken, shrimp, and even turkey as a burger option.

Would without any reservation, recommend that folks stop by and give this local establishment a try as I don't believe you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HouTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World - But based in US
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Suprisingly delicious food from a "road house" bar & grill”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

On a road trip to "Peckerwood Gardens" (excellent, BTW) in Hempstead, Texas, a group of friends and I were looking for decent place for lunch. About 5 miles down the road is a place called "The Thirsty Parrot". My expectations were pretty low for anything this far off the beaten path. I was pleasantly surprised. The menu was broad, fresh, and broad enough for most tastes. There was plenty of cold beer and crawfish for those so inclined. I went with grilled shrimp and sweet potato fries. The grilled shrimp were succulent and good-sized, done with a glaze that was slightly sweet and spicy enough to be interesting without raising a sweat. The shrimp was fresh, NOT frozen. The fries were delicious and were fried in an excellent quality of vegetarian oil (yes, I asked). Someone in this establishment cares about both the quality and preparation of the food here. No one at our table was disappointed. Prices were good. Service was friendly and efficient (thanks, Brandy!), and the entire experience was very nice. I don't know what this place is like on a Saturday night, but I would guess it's still a great place to visit if you're in the neighborhood.
My one complaint would be that people are allowed to smoke, although when we were there we barely caught a whiff of it. Smoking in bars and restaurants is controlled by local ordinance, and not every jurisdiction has entered the 21st century.
They're on the web at http://www.thethirstyparrot.com/

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn The Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Parrot Bar & Grill also viewed

Hempstead, Texas Gulf Coast
Hempstead, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Hempstead, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Thirsty Parrot Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing