We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”

El Chaparral Mexican
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Helotes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Three decades and two generations of experience and passion go into every smiling face and mouth-watering bite that make-up El Chaparral. Our family history is etched into everything we do. In 1972, our parents, Charlie and Mary Garcia, followed their dream to a small eatery in Helotes, Texas.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very good food. Serves home style Mexican food. The place is colorful and inviting. Servers are friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melcaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe M, Owner at El Chaparral Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind words! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope you'll join us for another soon!

Cheers,

Carlos
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

El Chapparral in Helotes is one of our family's favorite restaurants! We have been there for lunch and dinner numerous times. From the margaritas to the sopapillas it is always delicious. Once seated you are immediately served salsa and chips, and then, before your main course, a small dish of delicious pinto beans. I am particularly fond of their special chili rellenos and shrimp dishes, while my husband likes the chicken enchiladas. The white rice and corn salad are quite good. This is a family friendly restaurant with a play area outside for the kids and patio dinning. Prices are most reasonable for the good quality of the food and service. There is adequate parking even if the lot appears full from the street. You may have to wait for a table, but it is definitely worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TTU69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe M, Owner at El Chaparral Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We couldn't be happier to be a family favorite of yours! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. It sounds as though you've had a chance to try a little bit of everything -- I'm glad you've loved it all so much. Looking forward to your next visit. We'll have an order of Chicken Enchiladas and a Chile Relleno waitin' for ya!

Cheers,

Carlos
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Forget going to the River Walk and paying twice as much for Mexican food. If you are up for a little drive, go NW of the city to the small little hamlet known as Helotes. If you are planning on going on the weekend, get their early. El Chaparral is always packed and always serves amazing Mexican food with good service. You will not be disappointed in the taste or the value. Try the Carlos Special! Plenty of parking and offers indoor and patio dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ironman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe M, Owner at El Chaparral Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Best Mexican food in the neighborhood? You're making us blush! Thanks for the great review. It means a lot to a local biz like us. Hope you'll come by for another meal soon. The Carlos Special is calling your name!

Cheers,

Carlos
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A rustic, patio enhanced, hacienda-like establishment set in the rolling hills just past Flores Country Store in Helotes, this popular Tex-Mex restaurant knows how to plate up an enchilada or two.
If the sheriff ever tells you to get out of town, head you cayuse away from the calaboose and hitch up here for some old fashioned hospitality and "damn it's good" Tex-Mex. Nobody hollerin' "New York City!" or "get a rope" . . .! " here. Everything is prepared as you would expect it to be whether it is hot, tasty, spicy, cheeesy, meaty, or just pistol-packin' good. My advice to you pardner . . . grab your fork and put 'er here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe M, Owner at El Chaparral Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

You know exactly where to go when someone tells you to "get outta town"! We couldn't be happier to have you swing by for a delicious Tex-Mex meal on our patio. Hot, tasty, spicy, cheesy, or meaty -- we've always got just what you need! Thanks for the great review. Hope you'll pull up a chair at our table soon!

Cheers,

Carlos
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We thought waiter Richard was one of the best waiters we have
ever had any where, UNTIL we discovered he made a false statement
regarding our packaged leftovers. He said he added some extra
quantity in there for us.
I tipped 30% for his attentiveness, service and going above and beyond..
.. found out waiter did NOT put any extra in. We didn't care about that, just
that he lied about it.
Why would a waiter do this other than to get a bigger tip?
Shame on you..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoutineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe M, Owner at El Chaparral Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

I can assure you it wasn't Richard's intention to deceive you. More than likely, he thought the added portions had been included in the to-go boxes when they hadn't. I hope you won't hold this small oversight against us. We're all human, and capable of making mistakes. Since you enjoyed your meal here, I'd love to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in Helotes!

Cheers,

Carlos
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chaparral Mexican also viewed

 

Been to El Chaparral Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing