We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Value Place Brownsville Harlingen
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hotel is not worth staying as the hotel management will nickle and dime you to death. Almost everything you do is charged to your account. Why Cheapticket has this hotel on their site is beyond me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
15
6
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Under new management and apparently wants to kick out its previous occupants who have stayed there and paid on time. No issue with logistics, it's the staff who are not professional and are not properly trained on dealing with its customers civilly.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our room had a terrible smell, the office personel sprayed some deoderizer that lasted only one day, the smell was so bad it made me sick. The room was over priced for what you got- it is OK if you like sleeping on a piece of plywood. It was a horrible place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

This is a cheap hotel that lacks many features and amenities. You get one roll of toilet paper for two weeks, a small towel, and NO housekeeping service. There is not a closet to store your clothes. It is a flop house!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We-Are-Not-Snobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

I read some bad reviews on Value Place and almost didn't stay, but glad I did. The Value Place in Harlingen was very clean, had a courteous staff, provided all advertised and no hidden charges. Great value for the money. High speed ethernet was only $10 for the week

  • Liked — Value for the money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank derfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Brownsville Harlingen, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We really appreciate you choosing Value Place and we are glad to here your experience was a good one! We wish you the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn  Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Villa Suites
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 17 in Harlingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Place Brownsville Harlingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Brownsville Harlingen

Property: Value Place Brownsville Harlingen
Address: 3905 Frontage Rd, Harlingen, TX 78550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place Brownsville Harlingen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place Brownsville Harlingen is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Wi-Fi for purchase, access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Courtesy phone in the lobby or guest room for 24/7 guest support (including check-in) from our friendly staff. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. Call to learn more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Value Place Brownsville Harlingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Harlingen Hotel Harlingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing