We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Harlingen
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
603 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Interesting and well run museum and attraction. Enjoyed visiting with former marine who was volunteering there. He made my visit much more memorable. Great for history buffs and the memorial is quite inspiring.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Replica”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is worth a visit. The memorial is beautiful and identical to the real one. I have visited that one also. I have close family ties to the Marines and this is aesome. It is definitely worht the visit. A little hard to find becasue signage is not so good. Use your GPS.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RealCustomerTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Impressive/Beautiful”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was closed when we went but the Memorial and the names and the trees Beautiful. We looked for my father's brother name who was killed in the war but had no luck finding it on any Memorial of course he was in the Army so are search there was not there. However we did see his and his two brothers name in the La Feria American Legion WWII wall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This Is the Real Deal”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

outstanding in every way .. the statue leaves you in aw .. such such detail that the bronze one in DC doesn't reveal ..this is the plaster version the bronze statue was cast from .. beautiful landscape and even one of the flag raisers body is buried there as well .. the museum is small but wonderful, full of weapons, flags and memorabilia .. it is rather heart breaking reading letters of soldiers .. the gift shop is full of stuff from all branches of the service .. easy to find, near the airport and at the entrance to the Marine School .. take a short drive if your in South Padre Island to visit this wonderful tribute to artist, the soldiers and sacrifice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank margo812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent The movie is very enlightening. A friend was in the movie and in the photo books. Everyone should visit the museum. We have been to the museum several times and have taken family and friends also.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum also viewed

Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing