We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in early October. Hotel was clean, although otherwise basic and unremarkable. Front desk personnel and manager were unhelpful and unfriendly. Wifi was extremely slow and will only allow you to connect a single device. Although there were hot offerings at breakfast, they were poor quality and frequently left empty with infrequent refills.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
12
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for Labor Day weekend. We spent a total of three nights here. The room was very clean and well stocked. It comfortably fit four adults with two queen beds. There was a desk and comfortable chair for us to work from. The Internet and breakfast were included with our stay. Breakfast was delicious, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy and pancakes. Cereal and yogurt was also available. The hotel beds were good. Overall our stay was very good and well with the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

While traveling for business, I stayed overnight here. Decent room, albeit a little dirty. It also took awhile for the room to cool down. The staff is nice and the workout room is decent. As Holiday Inn Express's go, its breakfast was good. Hot and plenty available. The pool and spa are located outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in a king room while on business. The room was a little small, but since I was by myself it was ok. Micro and fridge. Lots of restaurants nearby. Not far from the highway, but it was quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel was OK. The hotel and our room was clean. Our bed was comfortable, but I think the A/C could have been a bit better for the 100+ degree heat. The staff was nonchalant and not overly friendly, but would respond when queried. There was a bit of a musty smell to our room, but as I recall from my childhood, many places in So. TX have that same mustiness. Breakfast was typical of Holiday Inn Express, and area was clean and well-maintained.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sunny side of the hotel, but there were plenty of trees to help with shading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurBigAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Had to stay because flight was cancelled. Airport Shuttle convenient. All the staff were super friendly. Room was spacious, comfortable beds & nice TV. The gem though ws the restaurant suggestion for "Los Nortenos". A local mexican place. Wow! Authentic, inexpensive & delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68_melissa_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here for a week while I was a conference. I didn't spend much time at the hotel, so I can't comment in depth, but it was clean, quiet, well run, and just what I needed for a home base for a week. The complimentary breakfast included eggs and biscuits in addition to cereal and pastries, they even moved the start time for breakfast up an hour to accommodate those attending my conference, which was nice. My impression is that you pay a little more, and get a little more, at the Holiday Inn than at the other standard hotels in Harlingen.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103, right next to the workout room, and I was worried about noise. It turned out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trogon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Harlingen
Residence Inn Harlingen
#2 of 17 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard By Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott
#8 of 17 in Harlingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Villa Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harlingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harlingen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
Address: 501 S P St, Harlingen, TX 78550-5944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harlingen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harlingen Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping and a 16 screen theatre. We offer 129 guest rooms including 9 suites. Hotel amenities include coin operated guest laundry, on-site fitness room, free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest room amenities include: 25' color TV with cable (inc. HBO, ESPN, CNN): phones with data ports, Wireless High Speed Internet, coffee makers, iron/board, alarm clock/radio and hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harlingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen Hotel Harlingen
Holiday Inn Harlingen
Harlingen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing