We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only Japanese food in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shogun

Shogun
Ranked #67 of 95 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant, good food
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The only Japanese food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Shogun is very high quality. The service is above and beyond anything else in town. Highly highly recommend this place. The tempura is great!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 174jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lone Oak
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh how yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The show is wonderful if you have the grill. The chefs do are great job of entertaining you while they prepare your mean. They are very friendly and make sure your food is the way you want it. The steak will melt in your mouth. The fried rice is excellent. I go every chance I get it is so good. They are very good at getting you right into the grill. The waitress was great with my granddaughter she didn't want to be by the fire during the show. So she took her in the other part of the restaurant and entertained her until the food was ready. I really was thankful for her doing that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Allie G”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my nieces 12th birthday at Shoguns!! Our Chef had great interaction skills which complemented the excellent various types of main courses, which varied from steak and chicken to fresh seafood! We also ordered several types of Sushi which was also scrumptious and presentation alone was outstanding!! Waitstaff seemed to still be learning the tricks of the trade but overall was hardly noticeable!! Great Hibachi Grill experience!!

Helpful?
Thank Hachi527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent, interactive chef and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been here before when first opened and the food is much better. Went for daughters birthday party and our table was waiting for us at the reservation time so that was a plus. The service was a little slow, she was not quick on getting our drinks to the table even though couldn't figure out if it was waitress or bartenders responsibility. Overall had large table and chef was awesome!!!!!!!!!! Had so much fun with him. We had sushi (Tears in heaven will make you cry) (at least to some of us) had seafood and steak and chicken. So everything on menu!!!! Overall it is pricey but this is not something we do every week but was great for our occasion and we didn't have to drive to rockwall/rowlett which is where we have always gone for Japanese before. Great Job!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hibachi Food and Presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Celebrating our Granddaughter's 12th Birthday at restaurant of her choosing. Our Hibachi chef was not only an excellent Hibachi chef but had some new tricks we have never seen. Servers seemed a little overwhelmed but it did not dampen our party. Everyone had a great time. Had taken balloons earlier to the restaurant and someone had taken the time to disassemble the bundle and had them tied on each chair. It really surprised my granddaughter and added to our birthday celebration.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun also viewed

 

Been to Shogun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing