We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum, Well Worth a Visit and Inexpensive”

Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Greenville
Attraction details
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum, Well Worth a Visit and Inexpensive”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had passed this museum which is located just off I-30 approaching Dallas many times without time to stop. This visit, I made time to stop and was very glad I did. This museum is actually two museums - One whose topic is Audie Murphy and one whose topic is cotton. I only had time to visit the section on Audie Murphy. This excellent small museum contains lots of information on Audie Murphy and on the times in which he lived. The video and other displays were informative and well done. The museum covered his entire life, including the hardships of his childhood, his heroism in WWII and his movie career. There were funny stories regarding his time in Hollywood, including the fact that Jimmy Cagney was the person who thought Audie should be a movie star and invited him to Hollywood. In WWII, Audie was a true hero who served our country with bravery and integrity. Highly recommend this museum and only wish I had been able to spend time in the cotton section. The museum entrance price is small and it has both senior & veterans' discounts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank filtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Audie Murphy, A Great Marine Spirit”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Audie shoulda been, coulda been, woulda been a Marine.
I'm no Audie Murphy, but I was smaller, weighed less and fought my way into the Marines.
The Audie Murphy Museum is a great visit. They did a fine job putting it together and are still working to improve the experience for visitors. The locally produced DVD is an excellent production of Audie Murphy's life. The statue of Audie Murphy in front of the Museum is a moving experience to view. We have passed this museum for years, always wanting to stop, but never having the time. We planned this trip to specifically make the Audie Murphy visit. It is a great story to be told to all, especially younger folks.
Even though you weren't a US Marine, Audie, Semper fi, you had the Marine Spirit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JRSilverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was extremely interesting and a very nice tribute to one of our greatest heros. Staff was informative and very helpful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
474 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This memorial is located in the small town of Greenville however those of us that remember World War II will remember the name Audie Murphy. The site can be seen from the Interstate. The out side are is open all the time however the building is not open everyday. If in the Greenville area this stop would be worth your time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Man”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We all have heard the stories of Audie Murphy but to go and see what it was that he actually did was outstanding! Those of us who lived thru the wars of our country know what it takes to be a real hero and this man was just that, A REAL HERO!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank trsandsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum also viewed

 

Been to Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing