We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
dallas, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Wish I could say that the lodge was a great experience, but our stay was less than expected. First of all....the unbelievable wait to check in. We arrived at 4:30.......waited in line until 5:10.........and were told that our room wasn't ready and that we should leave our luggage in the holding room and that we would be more than welcome to PAY for a locker to store our personal items while we used the waterpark. Well.....NO room in the holding room, and we were not about to unpack all of our luggage in the lobby to find our swimwear.......PAY to use a locker......and then haul the suitcases back to the car until the room was ready. Once they called at 5:45 to say that a room was ready, we had to wait another 20 minutes in another line to actually check in and get our room keys!
If you don't mind extremely basic rooms for a hefty price, these will be right for you. They were clean, but for what you pay a night, I would certainly expect at least a coffeemaker in the room and mirrors in the bedrooms. Also, the wiring was completely awry as the main room lights were hooked up to the TV's in the bedrooms and/or the bathroom. If you turned the lights out in the main room, the TV's in the bedrooms went out! There was no way to have someone asleep on the sleeper sofa and someone else watching TV in the bedrooms.
The waterpark itself was a lot of fun, although the lines for the slides were outrageous and there were constant battles to find tubes to ride them. I can't imagine how crowded it will be when they open up even more rooms.
The food was pricey and passable, but only if you have to eat there for a day. Can't imagine more than that as there was very little variety and I would consider it "junk" food. Hey, the kids liked it though. Bring your own sodas and snacks if you want to save a LOT of money.
We will possibly return as it is after all the only indoor waterpark around. They've got you there. I would however, book the cheapest room and bring as much of my own food as possible. There are fridges and microwaves in the rooms.

  • Disliked — check in
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lldarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    1,183
    817
    404
    297
See reviews for
3,982
24
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I took my 3 yr old son and his three teenage cousins to GWL to celebrate his birthday. We stayed in a Wolf Den Suite, which was a little too small to be called a true suite and looked a bit like a La Quinta room, but was clean, comfortable and had a cute "cave" bunk bed area with its own TV that my son loved.

The waterpark was a hit with all the kids and I had fun in there as well. I liked that they had a smaller pool area for toddlers and a bigger wave pool and slides for the older kids. There was only one girl working the bar by the waterpark area and it took quite a while to get a drink.

The Pizza Hut, Starbucks and gift shop were nice to have, but a little overpriced. Staff was friendly. My main complaint is the too late/too early check in and check out times of 11am and 4pm. It felt as if they didn't want us in the room too long. Do they really need 5 hours to get a room clean for the next guest?

Overall, it was a nice family getaway. Probably wouldn't be fun if you didn't have kids.

  • Liked — indoor waterpark, nice facilities
  • Disliked — late check in, early check out times- a little inconvenient
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeMafia224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We were so glad that we decided this yr. to make GWL a part of our traditional 'grandkid-vacation.'. We have 2 grandkids, to date, ages 2 1/2 yr.(boy) & almost 7 yr.(girl). They both love the water, along w/ us. Papa heard about GWL, from co-workers, for the first time the wk. before we booked our stay. Since our vacation- time fell during one of the hottest months of the yr., the fact that this newer waterpark was 'indoors,' really appealed to us! Not fun to have to worry about sunscreening the little ones every minute of a trip, like we did when we went to Sea World. Also, the constant yr.-round temp of 84 deg. for the indoor part of the park, enticed us to book. After thoroughly checking out the GWL website, we booked online the week before, w/ no problem @ all. (We booked for 2 nights. Ck. in is 4pm & out is 11am. That left us ample time @ the park just after cking in & we got to spend the rest of the day there AFTER our 11am ck-out time on the third day, equaling 2 nights cost for 3 days of waterpark!) We merely printed off our confirmation-of-reservation hardcopy & took it w/ us; but were not asked to see it @ check-in; they had our name & we were processed in w/ no problem. (for some reason, though???, GWL does not yet seem "debit-card-friendly." Not sure why, but they should work on that ,since that is the payment form of preference these days.) Not only did check-in go smoothly, we were also offered an upgrade to a rm. w/ the added kid-cabin w/ bunk-beds for the kids! We booked in mid-wk. to save $$ & to avoid over-crowdedness, so they had the upgrade available @ no additional charge! So, we had the pull-out full-size sofa~beside a queen-size bed~separated by the wall between the kids'-cabin w/ the bunk-beds. The walls of the kids'-cabin were covered w/ great artwork of animated forest animals that the kids loved. They also loved having their own TV in their cabin.

We took our cooler full of drinks, food & snacks + a microwavable dish to boil water. Since there is a very small refrig. & microwave, we were able to make our own breakfast of oatmeal or cereal & we would just save $$, time & for convenience sometimes by coming back to our rm. to make sandwiches. We did utilize the food courts there for pizza, desserts, ect., when we wanted. Most hotels have coffee pots in the rms. These, however, do not, & we did not know this until arrival. You could bring instant coffee, or a small coffee maker for a lengthy stay. We did read in another review that you can get free coffee coupons @ the front desk. We did not know this during our stay. We bought our coffee (which we both LOVE!) each morn for almost 2 bucks a cup, not to mention inconvenient to get when trying to get ready to go to the waterpark. We will suggest to GWL in the survey they have sent us, that they furnish coffee pots for the rms., as a treat for the adults. Another suggestion for GWL is that they put more ways to hang up wet clothes/swimming attire in the rooms. No one will want to go to the trouble of using the hotel's clothes dryers, too much trouble & added expense; so more towel racks or just hooks all around the rooms would be helpful, & could save their furniture from water damage. We had an outdoor small patio w/ furniture to enjoy, so were able to hang some wet clothing out there to dry. GWL makes the transition from hotel to waterpark extremely easy & convenient. Our room was booked on the second floor. Didn't notice ONE fashion model in bikini here; EVERYONE feels comfortable in swimming attire. In fact, we just chose to wear a long t-shirt over our swimming attire. We were too busy having fun to notice what anyone was wearing! Just wear your cover-up from your hotel rm. & keep in conveniently in your rented locker by the waterpark area. You may also wear swim shoes in the water, if you want to. The water park has something for everyone, young & old. Both of us grandparents took turns going down the big slides w/ our 7 yr. old g.daughter. She loved even the 'scarrier' ones. She was able to do everything there, as long as accompanied by one of us adults. & we took turns in the baby/toddler water-play areas for our 2 1/2 yr. old g.son. He was never bored. We all 4 were able to float along in the lazy river together on or off the provided floats. That & the wave pool were our favorite parts. We enjoyed the similar outdoor part of the waterpark, too. The baby/toddler part of that was shaded by the hotel. However, we spent most of our time indoors. The number of life guards was adequate everywhere; I witnessed the manager walking around often; all were polite, available & very attentive. Rules are posted many places. All rules seemed very fair & safety-oriented. Life jackets are included if needed for little ones. Lockers are provided for a fee of $5 per day, making it very handy near the waterpark for keys, cameras & such. Showers are convenient in the waterpark restrooms for before & after swimming. There are PLENTY of towels @ the waterpark & in the hotel rms. And occasionally, you can be lucky like we were to get some that are still warm just out of the dryers @ the waterpark! Ample seating is available throughout the waterpark for any & everyone, in or out of swimming attire. Make sure that you read up online or elsewhere before you go, so that you do not miss out on any of the offered & included fun activities. Storytime @ night by the wolf is great for the kids in their p.j.'s.

A family can plan a low-budget stay @ GWL; & one could splurge & access all of the accommodations the facility offers, including the spa treatments, game rooms & full restaurant assortment. Was easier for us to eat in our rooms followed by occasional rest-time for our little ones (& us grandparents!) The wristbands that each guest is given to wear enables them to come & go as pleased to the waterpark throughout the stay.

The rooms were quiet enough for us. We did hear occasional screams of delight from our own g.children & other children in the distance. But if you cannot deal w/ that, then you do not need to go to a place like GWL. That is music to grandparents' ears! It seemed to us that the "no loud noises before 10am or after 10pm" rule was abided by very well. This is a place for children/young people that has been designed to also accommodate the adults who supervise, to enjoy the stay. We all certainly enjoyed ours! We left feeling sad to have to leave. A GREAT place to take lots of colorful photos!

  • Liked — fun, safe, easy to access all events
  • Disliked — no coffee pot in hotel rm., not debit card friendly, need more hanging hooks for wet clothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungCountyWoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We just got back from a two night stay with our kids 13 and 9 and we had a great time and will go back. We arrived at 3:00 to check in and there was a line but my husband stood in line while the kids and I explored the gift shop and the bottom floor with magiquest, the ice cream and candy shop, pizza hut, and kids craft room (which seemed to be for smaller children). It probably took about 30 minutes in all to check in. It wasn't bad. Warning that if you do not have a credit card they do charged your debit card $150.00 security deposit until you leave and will return the money to you the day you check out. We checked into a family suit and it was very nice and themed. Everything clean and new. We never heard any other people around us other than some kids running in and out of a door a few times. One complaint that I have is that the picutres on the GWL website are not the pictures from the GWL in Grapevine TX. The website shows a themed restaurant called Camp Critter - suppose to be like you are camping in the woods. Camp Critter and the Loose Moose look the same basically out in the open. The breakfast buffet at the Loose Moose is awsome - a variety of everything. Well, worth the money. The dinner was not so great - there was not enough variety. The outdoor pool food that we ate for lunch was not so great, but it was nice to not have to leave the hotel. One night we were tired and ordered pizza from their pizza hut express and took it back to our room. The waterpark is awsome. All of the water rides come out in 2.6 feet of water or less. The Howling Tornado was awsome, but was a little ruff for me and my son. Someone has to go down backwards on that ride and the family raft ride which of course it was me. You can ride the toilet bowl ride or the yellow tube ride with a one person raft or two person raft. For a scaredy cat like me it was hard for me to try all these rides, but none of them are bad and once I went down them I wanted to ride them again. There is also a small lazy river, a wave pool that is bigger than the picture on the website, a water treehouse with slides, a hot tub for adults, hot tube for everyone that goes from inside to outside, a pool area for basketball and climbing on alligators and acorns, and the smaller children's area that was really nice. It has two different slides, waive runners for the kids to play on, a banana boat for the kids to climb on and more but really well themed. Then the outside pool has two different raft rides that are also fun for families. We never had to stand in very long lines. It seems when we arrived on Wednesday June 4rd the water park was not busy at all that night or much the next morning. It is hard to find a table and chairs but if you keep walking around everywhere we usually found a table somewhere or someone getting up. When we arrived we also purchased magiquest wands for each of our kids ($27.00 per child for the wands and game) All the kids in the building seemed to be playing this game. Our kids had fun, but you get annoyed with this game really fast as you have to go up and down 8 floors of stairs to look for clues. You get a lot of exercise, but after a while you just tell your kids to go by themselves. You see kids running up and down the stairs which are hidden in a stairwell. The elevators run really slow and don't keep up with the amount of people trying to use them. We were on lobby level and did not really have to use them unless needing to go up to the 8th floor for Magiquest. You are suppose to use the stairs for the game, but I cannot run up to the 8th floor chasing your kids and then have to go back down to the 2nd floor. It wears you out. You need at least two days for this. We did not even finish the adventures as there are lines for them and they take a while. This was fun for the kids but the system they have just does not make since. They should have done this differently. Overall we had a great time and will go back. A great vacation for a two night stay especially as it was 40 mintures away from home. They are building more rooms onto the GWL and it does worry me that the waterpark will be very crowded at that point if they don't had more waterpark.

  • Liked — The themed hotel and waterpark
  • Disliked — The slow elevators did not keep up with all the people
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank phoenixTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The hotel is new and very beautiful and the front desk staff helped us get a great rate in an emergency situation, due to some Texas air conditioning problems. The waterpark and activities for the children were enjoyable for them and with a 7 and 12 year old that was important. Their was an arcade, air brush tatooing, a tech center/teen club and kid camp that keep children of all ages occupied. Their is a bar/resteraunt, Starbucks, Pizza Hut Express and an ice cream cafe on site. The rooms were nice, we stayed in the family suite, two double beds and a fold out couch for 2 adults and 4 children (7,12, >1, >1) , it did have a mini fridge and a microwave in the room.
Now for the nightmare part, the elevators are not in plentiful supply (1 bank of 4 total) and they are slow due to the kids constantly going up and down them. At times you could wait 5 or more minutes for an elevator, and being on the 7th floor makes the stairway journey a little tiring especially after doing it 3 or 4 times as my 7 year old and I did. I love for children to have a good time but they seem to be running wild in the hallways due to an interactive magic wand experience. A better idea would be to confine this to an area where more of the activities take place and less in stairways and elevator lobbies where people are trying to travel through. Much of the younger staff members seem to be more interested in the teenage girl guests than on doing there respective jobs. I saw no fewer than 5 acts of non-proffesionalism by young male staffers during my one night stay at the hotel. The feel of the hotel seems somewhat disorganized and not very proffesional, but that is a sacrifice parents will have to weigh if they decide to take their kids to the Great Wolf for what surely will be a good time.

  • Liked — Activities for kids and Water Park
  • Disliked — Elevators, Unproffesional staff, and traffic areas set up poorly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enkadtaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

As a grandmother I have finally found a vacation spot that is so much fun and so safe for the entire family. Doesn't matter what you look like, you'll be in the water with everyone else. From the moment we drove up to the lodge until we left, it was non-stop fun for all of us. My granddaughters are ages 7 and 3-1/2 and there were activities for both of them. The inside pool was wonderful and it was even more special with the young lifeguards who took quite a bit of teasing at times (my grand daughter shot one in the head with a stream of water) and were so helpful and friendly. The number of lifeguards too was more than adequate. My daughter and oldest granddaughter went on the bigger rides but we all splashed and floated around in the wave pool. The arcade was great and even small children were able to "buy" something with their tickets. We opted to have our handbands "preloaded" for the chlidren so they could purchase water or snacks on their own (also tokens in the arcade). The Magiquest - wow - whomever thought this up really presented a challenge. Parents and kids alike were running around 8 floors to finish their quests. Won't spoil your fun - these are unbelievable. Food was reasonably priced and good (Pizza-Hut down on play level), we had the buffet (lots of choices) and also ate in the Grill. Kids really loved going to the lodge main entrance where the huge fireplace, wolves on the ledges and the animated clock and story time are all located. They went in their PJs and sat there and listened to the animated clock and then the story teller. It was such a great time for all of us. One complaint - bring your own pillow and padding for whatever size bed adults sleep in. Pillows large and hard and bed was very uncomfortable. We had the kid kabin suite (kids loved it- they were sleeping on bunk beds in a real cabin inside your room - with their own TV). Rooms are great size, had mini-fridge, microwave and sink. They are sound proof. It was wonderful. We will be back, hope management does something about the beds and pillows, because everything else was wonderful. Every member of the staff was super friendly, courteous and smiled at you. A- (the beds are keeping it from an A+). Will add photos of this for you when have disk back.

Helpful?
1 Thank JESSIEJO54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We booked 35 rooms for a family reunion. WOW!!
First, I'd like to address the few negative reviews about "high-prices" and "noisy rooms".

We brought in huge coolers that contained enough food for 3 days for 100+ people. So our food costs were v-e-r-y low per person + lots of hanging-out with family while picnic-style eating. Nieces and nephews were zipping through the hallways "BBQ in Aunt Shauna's room!.....Popcycles in grandma's room!..." ---- It is so lovely and family-budget con$ciou$ that they allow you to bring food. BTW, there is a Starbucks that opens at 7am, but you can go to the bottom floor to the cafe and get delicious fresh coffee at 6am. (the front desk will give you free-coffee coupons!)

AS FOR THE NOISE...Great Wolf Lodge is a child's par-a-dise. There are happy, excited children.....everywhere. They're running through the halls, they're begging parents to hurry up, they're jumping up and down.....the sounds of excited giggly children IS loud; but isn't that why you came? Combined with an INDOOR water-park.......why not just celebrate and make some noise yourself?!---- because you don't have to worry about SUNBURN or FINDING A PLACE TO SIT!!! ----- because there are HUNDREDS of chairs with age-appropriate/clear -view -of- your -kids activities!! --------

Even the cheapest rooms are great. You can go hog-heaven wild....... and put arcade-privileges on the kids' bracelets (my mom treated all her grandkids to that service, so they truly think GWL is magical) ---

***** BEST TIP YOU'LL GET ******** : Wake up early on the day you're leaving...the bill should already be under your door. Go RIGHT THEN to check-out.....and then just pay cash for any further purchases. There will be NO LINE, NO STRESS, and you still have your room until 11am AND the entire day at the water-park. Otherwise the line gets very long. So avoid it.

The Magic Quest: You'll see kids with wands everywhere. They get to wave the wands to have stationary objects talk to them throughout the hotel. It takes a few hours. I'd skip it. We bought 5 of the $89packages that included the quest, stuffed animal, tattoo, etc, but only the 9yr-12 yr olds really enjoyed it. Small kids need to be with adults and you're supposed to use the stairs (so be IN SHAPE if you partake)----

There are a few bars that serve beer and frozen drinks ($7.95) and we had a few of those; bracelet charged everything so we didnt have to carry money. Also a grill, but we had food upstairs and never ate their food.

You don't need to bring towells. They're clean and stacked right when you enter the park. And, If you check in on a Saturday, for example, then you get the water-park for Saturday and Sunday for 4 people. You can purchase 2 extra tickets per room for $30 each. There is also an outdoor waterpark, but we rarely went out there. It's awesome, too.

I truly can't say enough good things about the child-enjoyment of GWL. If you don't sincerely like kids, then don't go. What a drag for a child to be so excited.... to have to be around adults looking at them as though they're an annoyance.

In closing, GWL is about KIDS. We are already planning to take our 6 and 8 yr old back during December. They asked when we were coming back WHILE we drove out of the parking lot!

  • Liked — It's a children's dream
  • Disliked — The long check-out lines
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texastravelAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW N/Grapevine
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
1.5 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 17 in Grapevine
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051-0962
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing