We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold plates”
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #133 of 238 Restaurants in Grapevine
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold plates”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to Cantina Laredo because of a fajita special. We were disappointed that our fajita skillet was not warm enough to Carmelize our fajita veggies. In addition out bean and rice plates were so cold that both were cold almost as soon as they were brought to the table. We spoke to the manager and he said people had complained about the hot plates on those so they stopped. I don't want to be burned by the plate, but it seems like there might be a happy medium. The manager was nice enough to discount our meal after our complaint, but it was a disappointing trip to a "gourmet" Mexican restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestboogeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cantina never disappoints!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have a Cantina Laredo near our home, and it is definitely one of our favorite restaurants. We needed to kill some time before we left the Dallas area (dropped a friend at DFW as hurricane Sandy was causing lots of cancellations) and we stumbled across Cantina's Grapevine location. It seemed like as good as place as any to kill a couple hours, so off we went!

The food was excellent (we all had tacos of some sort) the drinks were excellent, and the Guac did not disappoint. Definitely a great option for dining in Grapevine!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarieMom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wow! We have been coming here for years but not regulars. Tonight was the worst service and food we have ever experienced here. We ordered the mango chicken salad and enchilada's Veracruz. I am pretty well trained in restaurant industry and cooking. There is no debating the chicken used in both our dishes was processed and unpleasantly salty. The rice was so salty it taste like play dough (who didn't sample that as a kid?!?). The sautéed vegetables (squash) were simply raw. Our dishes arrived to our table within 5 minutes of placing our order ( which was a red flag) and then were never saw our waitress again until we flagged her down for our check. The enchilada dinner was 90% untouched and all the processed chicken was left behind on the salad and she never bothered to ask why we left most of the behind. We left needing water and came home and fixed dinner. The chef allowed his name to placed on the door- he should be ashamed to serve such crap. Good luck staying in business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, missing the special ambiance”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Loved this restaurant years ago and just recently went back for a visit. Shocked to see a vinyl table cloth (with a hole) on the table. Not the ambiance it used to have. Food was good, although menu has changed over the years, missing the filet they used to have with portabello mushrooms. The happy hour pricing on margaritas was average.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bnbyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Server was cordial and competent . Food was just bad news. Durango chicken entree and mango chicken salad tasted like canned minced chicken or canned tuna. Manager told us we were mistaken - perhaps we were - but they did a great job making the chicken taste like canned tuna regardless. Salsa was bland. Guacamole app is good. bottom line is stay away. Way overpriced for just bad food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepsnorkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing