We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I love this restaurant! (2 years running!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Italia

Cafe Italia
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Cafe Italia we offer our customers a warm and inviting atmosphere where they can enjoy their time with some of the finest Italian cuisine. We've got everything from steaks and traditional Italian fare to fresh seafood. Whether you're stopping in for a family dinner or a romantic dinner date for two, the affordable nature of our restaurant and excellent wait staff will ensure it's an experience to remember. Cafe Italia aspires to bring you the most authentic Northern and Southern Italian cuisine. We strive hard to achieve the best possible dining experience on offer in the Grapevine, TX area. We're proud to call our customers family and thoroughly enjoy seeing them week after week. We're a growing business, but we still remember those who stop in for lunch or dinner with us.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant! (2 years running!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we lived in Grapevine this was our favorite date night, family dining, work lunch, etc., place, and now that we have moved a few miles away, we still drive here for our date nights or when someone says "where would you suggest we go for great Italian?"
When we have been there we can't seem to make it to desert because the servings are so great! (and we have even shared a serving once!) But when I have had the Canolies, they are awesome! (so is the Tortellini Vodka my favorite!!)
Beko has been our server for the last year and not the only one who goes above and beyond the call of service! He is polite, kind to ask how we are (knows we are/have been regulars), and he has always greeted with us with a smile. Thank you so much Cafe Italia! We will happily tell anyone about this establishment until we have told everyone we know!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zedd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    95
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Grapevine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I have visited Cafe Italia for years. We have taken her sister and their late mom with us several times. The food is excellent including spaghetti, their veal parmagiana, sea food, and the deserts are wonderful. The house salad with their house dressing is worth ordering. They treat us like royalty as if we were not just regular folks. The service is excellent and we have never been disappointed. We recommend Cafe Italia to everyone. While we don't always drink wine with our meals, it is BYOB so we have to remember to bring a bottle of wine if we want to do so. When you are in Grapevine, you must visit Cafe Italia. They are well known, have a number of returning customers and can be very busy so it is a good idea to make a reservation in advance so you can enjoy dinner without a long wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thejohnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
“A must while near Grapevine!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I visited Café Italia with a girlfriend while attending a conference in Grapevine. We stayed at the Gaylord and even though the 'other location' of Café Italia was closer we went to the Ira E Woods location. EXCELLENT choice! The atmosphere is amazing, the service is perfect, and the food is authentic reminding me of the meals I experienced while living in Italy! My husband and I spent the night in Grapevine on our way back from Puerto Vallarta and I knew he would love this place...I was right! What a wonderful way to end our Spring vacation. Make sure to have Nick, the manager, show you his magic tricks! Not only is he a treat, his magic is very entertaining. Thank you Café Italia...we plan on making this 'our go to place' when in Grapevine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tzellmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“A place to visit while in Grapevine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were turned on this restaurant by one of the local businessman on grapevine. I've actually gone back and thanked him. The food is delicious. Standouts were anything in the vodka sauce, it was the best we've ever tried. The steak and the Chilean sea bas melted in your mouth and anything in the marinara sauce was simply, fresh, delicious. We went on a busy Saturday night and made reservation. We were seated 20min after the time we'd reserved, and complimentary appetizer were promptly brought out for our trouble. The waiters have thick Italian accent, making listen to the special challenging but well worth it, as those were the best dishes of the night. Of coarse it is BYOB with no corking fees or the like, which is a awesome perk and would make this place worth going to even if the food was mediocre... Luckily it isn't. Make sure make reservation special weekends, and grab a nice bottle of wine and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to dine! Reminded us of visiting Tuscany, Italy, but....BYOB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Yep, the BYOB on this restaurant was a surprise. My wife and I were traveling for business and this place was highly recommended on TripAdvisor. We took the recommendations but did not check their website that clearly says BYOB. Oh well, life goes on...

Any way, we had the Veal Rosini and a special of Sea Bass. What a delightful meal. Both entrees were perfectly prepared. The seasonings and prepration/presentation reminded us of several restaurants we visited in the Tuscany region of Italy!

Except for not having wine with our dinner, everything was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BPaul596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Italia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing