We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try their Mushroom Ravioli for Sure”
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romano's Macaroni Grill
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try their Mushroom Ravioli for Sure”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love their Mushroom Ravioli. They changed the recipe in 2012 for a couple months and then switched it back when everybody complained I guess. Love their bread and they usually have a great deal on wine, we usually buy a bottle or 2 when they have 50% off. I hope they bring back their chocolate cake, it used to be YUM.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This was the worst food i've ever had”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have had this type of micro-wave pasta from other macaroni grills, and this one was no better. the prices should be cut in half.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Macaroni Grill used to be good”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lettuce was brown, the order was wrong. The waitstaff seemed to not care or notice what they served and the place was not busy at all (now I know why).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NavyDad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Moving Back To Excellence - Time to Try it Again!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Back many years ago, my only complaints about Macaroni Grill were how crowded it was and how noisy it was. Their food, service and the quality of their interior finish-out, at that time, was outstanding. But as others here have explained, it's been on a downhill run since, but I've never completely given up on them and have always come back 2 or 3 times a year to see if they could return their food back to its former glory (the interior is still fabulous), which leads to our visit last evening. One can usually anticipate a Wednesday evening will be a slower night than others so my wife and I came here for date night, only our second visit in 2013, and discovered some nice changes to the menu. It appears they are no longer offering every Italian option under the sun but are instead concentrating on signature dishes and a few new arrivals to satisfy almost all tastes-- a very good move by the way. I had their new Chicken Cacciatore dish, which was very good (and made correctly with both dark and white meat) while my wife had the Shrimp Portofino that she said "exceeded all expectations".
It appears Phil Romano is finally moving Macaroni Grill back to excellence with its menu. Tony our waiter had a large 12-top to contend with but still made sure we were well taken care of, so hats off to them for reviving this great restaurant. We are now putting it back on our regular list to visit every month and perhaps it's time for you to try it again, too. You'll find it's well worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

From we entered until we walked out the door, it was delightful. Service staff were attentive and professional. The food was delicious and enough for two people. Could have had another loaf of that wonderful bread they give you before your meals comes. Went for my daughter's birthday and it was a wonderful treat for the family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing