We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely delicious, authentic Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esparza's Restaurante Mexicano

Esparza's Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #6 of 231 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious, authentic Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently visited the Dallas area and really wanted authentic Mexican food. We were shopping in charming downtown Grapevine so we asked one of the shopkeepers to recommend a place to eat. Just one block away was Esparza's. It was a Friday night after 7:00 pm and the place was packed- which we knew was a good sign. We waited 15 or 20 minutes at the bar and enjoyed margaritas. After being seated at our table, we enjoyed fabulous chips with queso and guacamole (best I've ever had!). The queso and guac cost extra and were a little pricey for the small amount we got. The dinner portions were generous, though, and perfectly priced. The chicken quesadilla was stuffed with outstanding grilled chicken and the right amount of high-quality cheese. The spinach quesadilla was a great healthy option that did not disappoint us. We highly recommend Esparza's. We did not give it 5 stars because it was so loud and crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomgirl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    182
    55
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visited on a Friday night for dinner. It took 3 times as long to find a parking place than to get seated at a table. Our waitress Antonia was fabulous.........very gracious and attentive. The food is typical tex-mex. Nothing special. The restaurant is quite loud. I would certainly go back the next time I'm in Grapevine, but wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jj8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok place, great margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We go when in town, but don't plan on having a conversation. Food is ok, not great. Margaritas by the pitcher.....no worries after

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ftshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go to Mexican place when friends come to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great atmosphere, great food and drinks. You can't go wrong taking visiting friends here. Plus, one of our favorites for sitting outside and chilling out in the summer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We used to frequent Esparzas often, as it was always a great 'happy hour' meeting place with great food and dynamite Margueritas. However, we have been there twice in the last three months and the service was terrible and the food tasted like something from a Taco Tico. The second time was with a large party of 16 and everyone in the group agreed they had really gone downhill from the Esparzas of years ago.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esparza's Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

 

Been to Esparza's Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing