We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indoor Fun”

Great Wolf Lodge Waterpark
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kemp, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Indoor Fun”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Often over crowded and loud. Off season is great! It is quieter and not so much chaos. Like salt over chlorine. They have a mix. Hot tub rules need to be enforced more re: children in adult tub. Kids get too rough and rowdy on the buckets and "guns". Gets tables wet when you are eating or sitting there. Need more discipline on the kids or guards to stop it. Lazy river is nice but can get rough. Can't just float because the kids are always pushing and dumping buckets on you. Wave pool is great! Like the little kiddy area on it. Kids section is nice but parents come on get swim diapers on that work. Shutting down all the time to "clean" gets old. Nicely decorated. Could use more tables and cabanas. Great escape from the cold. Was awesome to watch it snow out the big windows while sitting in a hot tub in an 84degree room. Granddaughters love the place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDOTDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    139
    61
    19
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grapevine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway with the kids”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is full service Hotel with indoor water park and games for Family with kids... Great for overnight birthday parties... They have magiquest its inter active adventure for young children they can get wands like Harry Potter and storm the castle to slay the Dragon. Great Wave Pool and relaxing spa for the adults and water slides are a blast ...

Helpful?
Thank destinGrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your kids will love this place and so will you!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited in Jan. 2013 and plan on going back. Only downfall is it is pricey. But, what attraction isn't? We had a regular standard room ($238 with tax) that was comfortable for our family of five. It was nice and perfect for us. Refrigerator and microwave in room and 2 queen beds and 1 fold out couch. Keep in mind if you get a room that sleeps 6 that does not mean you will get 6 tickets to the waterpark. Each room is allowed so many and after that you have to purchase extra water park passes at $40 each. We brought our own snacks/drinks/food to save money. It was worth it because otherwise you are very tempted. We did splurge on an ice cream treat. You will see every kid there running around with a magic wand. It is to play the MagiQuest game,which is a scavenger hunt. Wand didn't always work and you had to do things in certain order for it to reveal hidden objects. We only bought one and had our 3 kids take turns. The waterpark was so fun. My husband and I enjoyed it just as much as the kids. Use your best judgement on little your little ones ride what rides because it is your responsiblity. The big rides are up 4 flights of stairs and you have to carry your tube to ride on. So, if you are not able to climb lots of stairs, this is not for you. We had so much fun and plan on going back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bkras11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place all under one roof”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Took my two grandsons, Joseph, and Jordan to this place and everything is there under one roof. Inside water park with such fun for the kids (of all ages) and grown-ups. Rooms are very nice, food a little pricey, but we enjoyed every minute being there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lenmar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bacteria CIty”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We go here a lot in the winter, just to get away from the house for the weekend. Every time, it has been worse than the time before. The place is starting to get run down, and the waterpark life guards do not scan or watch for the safety of the little kids. I am tired of helping watch other people's kids and being an unofficial life guard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rain4est-Roach4est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wolf Lodge Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing