We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tender and tasty”

Uncle Buck's Brewery and Steakhouse
Ranked #45 of 236 Restaurants in Grapevine
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tender and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

On entering you are struck with the high, vaulted ceilings which go at least 50 feet in the air. The atmosphere is definitely "macho" with an "outdoorsy" feel to it. Like a big lodge in the mountains somewhere. At a business dinner I had the half order of ribs. It was more like a full order at most other restaurants. The ribs were tender and tasty. Great barbecue sauce. The sides and appetizers were all very good. I even had dessert, a drunken brownie, which was just what you would expect. It was a decadent brownie soaked in bourbon with chocolate syrup and vanilla ice cream. . . a great way to end a meal. Definitely will go again if I happen across one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St_Nick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    114
    75
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was more of a "man's" restaurant with a lot of stuffed heads around. Steak was average. Salmon was good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Located inside Bass Pro Shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ate here twice, and both times I had the fillet, medium (I would not order past this--it was only slightly pink inside). The salads are HUGE, more than enough for 2 people, and these were side salads with entrees!! The beer sampler is a nice way to go if you are a beer drinker.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MnJH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over the top in that Texas kind of way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stopped in this place while staying at the attached Embassy Suites/Outdoor World for a conference. It was mid afternoon and pretty much a ghost town but the staff were very attentive and friendly. I sat upstairs in a sort of bar/loft kind of area overlooking the main first floor dining area (which is quite cavernous and calls to mind The Hall of the Mountain King). The gargantuan fermentation tanks (playfully labelled "TAX DETERMINATION TANKS") are housed in a row behind glass alongside this area and make for some dramatic mealtime scenery.

At first glance the list of beers didn't sound all that interesting (they of course, being Texas, next door to a hotel catering to business conferences and an Outdoor World, had a requisite "light" beer which was off-putting out of the gate). I started with their Red Head Amber Ale which was surprisingly good. Followed that up with their "Foreign Stout" which also did not disappoint. I'm a bit of a beer geek/snob so I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised.

The food was decent. I ordered the Venison Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms and a side of Wild Mushroom Risotto. I can say with a fair amount of certainty that that was NOT risotto but it was fairly tasty for a $3 side dish. The stuffed mushrooms were not bad. Had a fresh "herby" kind of flavor that dominated and was pulverized in a little too much mozzarella but overall pretty good (the toast they served with it was nice).

All in all it is definitely worth a visit, especially if you are already staying at Embassy Suites, it should provide a nice break from their bar/restaurant (which itself is not too shabby).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerePatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went here for dinner by myself one night and ate in the bar (which is upstairs)..they were not very busy for a Thursday night. My receipt actually says the name of this restaurant is Uncle Bucks which makes more sense than Big Bucks..I thought the service was very good and very friendly. My servers name was Ashley who knew the menu and the beer selection..(kind of a limited selection for an actual brewery) I ordered the half slab of baby back ribs and they were delicious..not fatty, not over cooked..meat fell off the bone. There was a variety of people eating there, everyone from people with young families to a few business people. The menu is pretty narrow so dont expect a huge selection. There was a good selection of TVs in the bar area for watching sports. I liked this place, but will probably not go back...too many other intertesting choices in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Buck's Brewery and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Buck's Brewery and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing