We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Tour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We did not stay here, scared off by some of the reviews, but we did take the grandkids to view the beautiful Christmas decorations and trains. We have visited at Christmas before and everything was beautiful and fun - especially trough the eyes of children - but some the decorations have been changed and I noticed several new activities for additional charges. The trains were a big hit and the life size gingerbread house too.

Parking was 12.99 and I felt it was worth it ... lots of good photo ops for kids ... then we got to leave and not deal with the crowds! Try to pick an off day to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 4,153 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for the first time for the Cotton Bowl. The positives included very cute Christmas decorations in the atrium and the attention paid to making the hotel feel like the OSU official team hotel. I also thought the valet, bell and front desk staff were very welcoming upon our arrival. One of the negatives was a very average room for the price. The room was small, and the bathroom underwhelming (not even a curved shower curtain rod!). The bedding was pretty skimpy, not real comfortable. The housekeeping staff did not compare to the valet/bell staff. The only amenities left in the bathroom were a shower cap and moisturizer (had to hunt for shampoo, shower gel and conditioner). We left the room on Friday at 11:00 am and returned at 3:15, and the room had not been made up. The food in the restaurants was extremely average and very overpriced. Our kids are too old for the holiday activities offered for kids, but they looked fun for the very young set. However, every single activity was a separate fee, and extremely expensive. Had a very "nickel and dime you to death" feel to it. I was glad to experience the Gaylord Texan for the Cotton Bowl, but I doubt I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eal4osu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was the official hotel for the OSU Cowboys for The Cotton Bowl so we stayed there. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas which was a treat . The various restaurants on site had great food, but the service was very slow. This could have been because clearly the hotel was at capacity and many people were there to see the decorations. I will say that the room service was awesome and speedy with piping hot food brought to our room. The parking rates are really high for a resort that is in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjackc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to gaylord as a family for the dream works package. We always like the ice exhibit and the decorations they have there. We have been to gaylord more than once and this visit was the worst with the bed being hard and noisy every move was heard and the restaurant we visited which we have been to many times was bad food and bad service for tons of money. A beef fajita was $20 and the only thing I could stand was the beef and that wasn't the bests nod usually great food with great service. We only seen our waiter a couple times. My daughter had a blast and that was the important thing, but for what u get for the money it is so crazy. Even with being expensive I would say at least do it once.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank tazman569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Have gone there for several years. This year I encountered ONE dept with acceptable customer service - the bell captain's stand of all places! The rest ... Coffee shop front desk room service maintenance dept Mexican cantina parking valet Ginghy's house Snow slide Ice exhibit All had a " I don't give a crap and really don't wanna' be here attitude". I was told be 3 people the hotel was out of coffee provided in rooms. BIG LIE. My grandson was hit on the forehead...bleeding and huge bump..and no one offered first aid. I DEMANDED the person who hit him come apologize. The parking valet overcharged me $27 EVERY day.
And every day I went to the front desk to get it corrected. Our room was not made up until I went to the front desk at 6 pm and ask to have it cleaned. Ordered a movie, it was blotchy & skipping. Called maintenance. They restarted it. Yep! You got it...charged $18 twice for 1 movie. I think I'm done with Gaylord.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan Resort for the 2014 Cotton Bowl. Check in time was 3pm - we got there at 4:15 pm and room was not ready. Waited until 5:15 until we finally got a room. One elevator on our side was never working the entire weekend so we either had to wait forever or take the stairs which was usually our choice. The Old Hickory Steakhouse was excellent. Very good food and service - bottles of wine were very overpriced though. The breakfast buffet in the Riverwalk Cantina was awful! Don't waste your time or money. Had to call on Friday at 3:30 pm to get our room cleaned. Hadn't been done. No shampoo in our room but had 2 bottles of conditioner. Overall this resort is huge, very hard to find your way around, very overpriced for what you get, did not handle the crowd very well. Disappointed and would not stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This resort is huge, the decoration during December is beautiful. We chose this hotel because there were activities for the kids, they enjoyed the ice tubing, the ice sculptures were incredible (it is very cold even with the parka they provide but it is a most to see). The rooms are expensive $300 + they are average size, no sofa parking is also expensive. The food is ok for the prize.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anatole
#35 of 206 in Dallas
3,570 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
7,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: $236 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing