We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice and expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice and expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We went to gaylord as a family for the dream works package. We always like the ice exhibit and the decorations they have there. We have been to gaylord more than once and this visit was the worst with the bed being hard and noisy every move was heard and the restaurant we visited which we have been to many times was bad food and bad service for tons of money. A beef fajita was $20 and the only thing I could stand was the beef and that wasn't the bests nod usually great food with great service. We only seen our waiter a couple times. My daughter had a blast and that was the important thing, but for what u get for the money it is so crazy. Even with being expensive I would say at least do it once.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tazman569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,026
    550
    282
    201
See reviews for
968
458
78
1,427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Have gone there for several years. This year I encountered ONE dept with acceptable customer service - the bell captain's stand of all places! The rest ... Coffee shop front desk room service maintenance dept Mexican cantina parking valet Ginghy's house Snow slide Ice exhibit All had a " I don't give a crap and really don't wanna' be here attitude". I was told be 3 people the hotel was out of coffee provided in rooms. BIG LIE. My grandson was hit on the forehead...bleeding and huge bump..and no one offered first aid. I DEMANDED the person who hit him come apologize. The parking valet overcharged me $27 EVERY day.
And every day I went to the front desk to get it corrected. Our room was not made up until I went to the front desk at 6 pm and ask to have it cleaned. Ordered a movie, it was blotchy & skipping. Called maintenance. They restarted it. Yep! You got it...charged $18 twice for 1 movie. I think I'm done with Gaylord.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan Resort for the 2014 Cotton Bowl. Check in time was 3pm - we got there at 4:15 pm and room was not ready. Waited until 5:15 until we finally got a room. One elevator on our side was never working the entire weekend so we either had to wait forever or take the stairs which was usually our choice. The Old Hickory Steakhouse was excellent. Very good food and service - bottles of wine were very overpriced though. The breakfast buffet in the Riverwalk Cantina was awful! Don't waste your time or money. Had to call on Friday at 3:30 pm to get our room cleaned. Hadn't been done. No shampoo in our room but had 2 bottles of conditioner. Overall this resort is huge, very hard to find your way around, very overpriced for what you get, did not handle the crowd very well. Disappointed and would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This resort is huge, the decoration during December is beautiful. We chose this hotel because there were activities for the kids, they enjoyed the ice tubing, the ice sculptures were incredible (it is very cold even with the parka they provide but it is a most to see). The rooms are expensive $300 + they are average size, no sofa parking is also expensive. The food is ok for the prize.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went to the Gaylord Texan ICE exhibit last night. We live in the Dallas area and have gone every couple of years since they started the exhibits each year. Last night will definitely be our last time. It is very expensive and the exhibit is NOT worth the ticket price, even a discounted ticket price. For adults, the ticket prices are listed as 29.95 for those 12 and over. We had a promo code that gave a discount of $10 per ticket, making the list price as 19.95. Once purchased, the price on the ticket was listed as 22.60 however our total charge was 78 dollars.

When we entered the ICE area, at first it was beautiful. I love the Nutcracker ballet and was looking forward to the exhibit. After a minute, we were in the Ice Slide room. "Slide" is not an accurate description of the area. It should be ICE "push" because you have to push yourself down, there is no sliding. After the slide, there was a New York room and a Nativity room. Both displays were very nice, but small. Then it was over. It took 10 minutes at most to walk through AND go on the slide. Very disappointing in the cost of the exhibit AND the size. You do NOT get want you paid for. And then when we got to the parking garage, we had to pay $10 for parking to exit - oh, well, we did receive a $2 discount on our parking since we went to ICE.

The hotel is beautiful, the lights and decorations in the atrium are gorgeous! Go to see these lights, just save the money you would spend to see ICE and pay for your parking!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel has a commanding presence and is very beautiful with a street scene of San Antonio riverwalk look. The layout is a little confusing as the signage is not easily sighted. The hotel is noisy in the atrium and the distances from entrance to other locations is very long. The parking is higher that parking at Disneyworld.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chernobog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and always enjoy the outdoor atmosphere with the stream and canyon. The fact that the air temperature is maintained around 72 degrees makes it enjoyable year round. Our room was large Texas view corner room with a nice bathroom. The only disadvantage was a long walk from the lobby.

Room Tip: We prefer a balcony room in the Hill Country section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing