We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be fantastic, but for.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
NM
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Could be fantastic, but for.....”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As other guests have stated, you will be nickel and dimed to death. My statement for a 3 night stay was lllooonnnggg. As a Marriott Gold member, I was upgraded to the atrium, which I appreciated, but the girl checking me in gave me wrong information about credits to my account. Unlike other Marriott properties, there is no continental breakfast offering or concierge level. Perhaps free self parking or forgiveness of the "resort fee" would be nice. Oh, the resort fee. This $20+ fee gets you two bottles of water and slow internet. That's it. If you are using Marriott rewards to stay here, be forewarned, you will be charged the resort fee and tax for the free nights. The lazy river area is nice, but was closed in mid-September, even though it was 90 degrees out. I suspect this is due to their seasonal help going back to school? The grounds are beautiful and the location is good, but just be prepared to pay big for rooms that are "meh" at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyfour65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    1,198
    650
    326
    246
See reviews for
1,190
536
87
1,655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A hotel is often a hotel.. However, the Gaylord Texan is one of those places that just stand out as really cool and unique. The hotel is built around a giant atrium that features lush foliage, water fountains, and model trains. This is a great business hotel with several cool shops and restaurants, but also a hotel - kids would have a BLAST at. The outdoor and indoor pools exceed expectations and the room was larger than average and quite modern. Definitely a cool place and somewhere you should check out if in the DFW area. One area for improvement would be the concierge staff, they seemed nice enough but not really on their "A Game.." One of those places you just need to see to understand, not your "typical Marriott" but much more resort-ish, you won't be disappointed!

Zeppolle Italian restaurant within the property was fantastic, much exceeds normal hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location and facilities for large meetings and product shows. Lots of places for breakout sessions and conversations / relaxing afterwards. Air conditioned atrium is beautiful. Will definitely return to this hotel for personal getaways and business.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendintooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed there in July of 2013, My friends mom goes to Texas often for business and she didnt want to be there alone, so i tagged along. Boy am I ever glad I DID! This hotel was indeed the nicest hotel ive ever been to and im a frequent go-er to high end hotels. They have amazing staff. Might want to keep you're daughters away from the bell boys, because some of them are really cute, lol. This resort is very large. It has multiple restaurants, the sports bar has really good food. They have a very cool water park. The best part about this hotel was it was under a huge bio-dome as we learned it was very hot in texas. (We are form Canada) Its a great hotel for business goers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed here a few times now when conventions are located here but back again after a few year hiatus. This place is massive and not necessarily in a destination are but close to DFW and downtown and a good place to bring a national organizing to a middleground locations They do a great job hosting a big group but stills feels intimate.

Rooms are nicely done. Nothing elaborate but when you're on business you don't have time to enjoy the extras anyway. We had drinks at the pool bar, sports bar (huge and exciting) and the lobby bar but didn't eat in any of the restaurants.

Great shops too. Overall a nice place to have to come to for a work event with close proximity to the airport. I would recommend to fellow business travelers.

Room Tip: I like the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The property its self is wonderful, and the staff does a great job at keeping the place looking like its in top shape. The receptionists were friendly and the waterpark was a great way to spend an afternoon. With that said, I wouldn't spend more than an afternoon at the waterpark as it is not very big unless you have kids, who would enjoy it way longer. The zipline into the pool was rather short. The best part was the lazy river which was very relaxing. We were there because my husband had a work conference, so I can't rate the value since I didn't pay but the conference center was very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphron53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This resort is just spectacular, I stayed here about a year ago and chose a room facing inside. I traveled with my family to a convention and all I could say is Wow! Now this place has surely what every person needs, breakfast, restaurants, bars, pools for the kids, excellent service. This establishment isn't your typical family style get-away resort so expect to fork over that extra cash. I will definitely visit here again with my friends and look forward to enjoying the resort and its amenities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Hilton Anatole
#33 of 203 in Dallas
3,392 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#7 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing