We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown Fees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed April 2, 2013

To All Convention And Meeting Planners
Make aware of those attending your meetings of what to expect in their hotel bill added surprise to room rates & sales tax.
I stayed plus 11 others in separate rooms for 2nites-March 25. We Just slept & took shower. There was $18+1.49 tax per day added as Resort Fee which none used as listed in the key card. The hotel management refused to reverse charges. Management should inform/disclose visitors at check-in. A good practice of doing hotel business.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank 972johne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,731 - 2,737 of 4,182 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on business--a conference at the convention center. Everyone was so friendly. The room was average, but very clean, and I loved having a little balcony to sit on and watch the view of the atrium below. The only down side was that the music from the atrium was a bit loud if you are jet lagged and trying to go to bed early. It seems like they turn it off around 10 pm, though. It's really a one-stop type hotel--very self contained. We ate at the steak restaurant one night (yum!), and had a great time dancing at the Glass Cactus another night. The breakfast buffet was very average, but fine. They had lots of stuff going on for families with kids--you could pose for photos with the characters from Madagascar, play at the water park, etc. I ordered a chocolate chip cookie from room service one night and it was a) warm and b) the size of my head!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Gaylord Texan. We received a room upgrade to an executive suite, which was great.

The hotel is clearly aimed at conventions, it is huge. The rooms have balconies that face the interior of the large enclosed space. The ceiling is a glass dome so light does filter into the space. However, the rooms with an atrium view do not have a window with any natural light, which was disconcerting after a couple of nights, which is why I gave this 4 stars.

Our room was very nice and exceptionally quiet especially since the hotel is on the flight path for DFW and all the restaurants etc were below the room.

The property has an awesome sports bar with a 700 sq. ft. screen. There is an area which is 21 and over only, and unlike some places, the hotel enforces the policy.

We were in Texas to visit family, and took two kids and their parents to the water park. The kids had a great time. We rented a cabana which was really nice, it has a tv, safe, and dedicated server. There were a lot of extremely attentive lifeguards.

Yes, the prices for food and drinks are high, but no higher than one would expect given the nature and character of the hotel.

The room service function was very efficient, we only ordered the children's choices, and the portions were perfect.

The staff was attentive, pleasant and helpful, without exception.

It was a good visit we would go back perhaps requesting a room with a regular window.

Room Tip: If you want natural light don't get an atrium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I felt captive, and while the establishment was quite polished I did want to leave in order to explore and found it quite difficult (or very costly) to do so. This is definitely a self-contained environment, and I'm sure families with children of parents who want (and can afford) everything catered, including childcare at the indoor water park, would find this place perfect. For the rest of us, not so much.

The room was posh and looked to be newer or better kept than most. Linens were top quality; towels were of generous size, as was the bathroom; which had a separate entry for double-sinks and vanity. Soap products weren't the best, and it was tough to get a new bar of bath soap, but the facial soap was endless (lol).

Most often we had to prompt housekeeping into providing any services; and it wasn't simply because they care about the environment and want us to reuse towels and bedding - we were there for an entire week and we only saw them twice, both times we had to wrestle for face clothes and beg for shampoo!

The only issues I encountered were with reservations - they insisted they had to create two reservations because my room rate changed during the middle of my stay. I thought that lame...rates change all the time at hotels, and having two itineraries and two bills for business purposes was quite cumbersome.

Meals served for the summits (business conferences) were outstanding. Service was top notch; food was hot, fresh and very inviting. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and the fresh fruit was out of this world. So were the baked goods and of course, eggs, potatoes and sausage. Restaurant food was awesome but fairly expensive and with no way off the resort within reason, it became the only game in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLHalliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place must have cost a fortune to build because it is massive. It is a beautiful resort that sprawls over many, many acres over looking Lake Grapevine. I is close to many other attractions such as the Glass Cactus night club, Bass Pro Shops and Grapevine Mills Mall. The hotel has many restaurants and attractions inside.
Be forewarned, it is expensive. Parking is expensive too and if you leave for a while and come back, you'll have to pay the expensive parking rates twice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent a few days on business - it was wonderful. The staff was attentive, the facility clean, the service impecible. I can't recommend it enough. Especially for business - but I know my kids would have loved the environment. 15 mins from Dallas/FW airport - you really can't go wrong with this facility! It's big but beautiful.

Room Tip: I might suggest a room on the "inside" - so much fun to see what's happening in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyDough2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great representation of "Refined Cowboy Chic". Each of the room buildings are different parts of Texas joined in the middle by an enclosed atrium. Restaurants, shops, and other things to do within mske this a wonderful resort that you won't have to leave. Even has a great water park on property. Close proximity to the airport and great Grapevine shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: $242 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing