We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a large but not overwhelming convention hotel. While it is only a short ride from the Dallas/Fort Worth airport it is isolated, so you can't walk to anything you would want offsite. This is of course on purpose. The 10 minute ride back to the airport was over an hour long nightmare due to construction. They have all the usual shops, bars, restraunts, ect. The room was standard for this level of hotel as were the meeting rooms and convention dining. The interior atrium space was spectacular. Wifi was free and easily available.The staff was freindly and helpful. My only complaint is that while it looks like the rooms go all they way arround and you can take any elevator up and just walk to your room, they block off areas so you have to go back down and get to the right elevator for your section. I've been to many covention hotels other than the lanscaping and decor they are all about on the same level

Room Tip: Don't be on the atrium side. Whiley have a pianist/singer in the lobby bar, he was under a roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,873 - 2,879 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

A well-run hotel that is enormous. The various wings are connected and protected from the elements. The landscaping is fabulous. There is a wide assortment of restaurants and entertainment, with even model trains in various parts of the hotel. Service is excellent.

This is the first hotel in which I got lost - suggest the management provide GPSs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord fo a conference. Hotel is very large. You get lost in the beginning, but they always have people posted to help you. If you want a destination where you do not need a car or want to leave hotel, then this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a truly massive hotel that's almost like its very own ecosystem -- it literally has a river wandering through it and lots of indoor "attractions." It reminds me a lot of the big Vegas Strip hotels, but without the casinos. (Instead of gambling, there are children. Lots and lots of children. Especially around the holidays.)

I had an inward facing room on the first floor, and it was very loud until about 10:30 or 11 every night. Prices are also similar to Vegas hotels -- the hotel restaurants aren't cheap and room service is actually quite pricey.

This was an OK hotel -- I can see how families might enjoy it, but it's not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unicornn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is impressive! The atrium is amazing. The rooms are big, but not necessarily comfortable.
The restaurants were terrible! My kids ordered chicken fingers at the sports bar- it was burned to a crisp. The following day we went to the mexican place for dinner, again the kids dinner was ruined - cheese enchilada with frozen cheese in the middle. Food and drinks are super expensive. Service terrible!
The water park - UGH! it was disgusting! (we went in the summer) the lazy river was overfilled. too many drunk idiots blocked the entire lazy river for the kids. The place was just dirty.
Indoor pool was not too bad- very plain but clean.
This hotel is not near too many area activities.
The only plus I can see for this hotel is it clearly shows that everything is bigger in Texas!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflower1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Attended a work conference at the Gaylord. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The beds are super comfortable with very nice linens. My minor complaint were the bath towels, they were much thinner and less luxurious than I would have expected at this type of hotel. The food served for lunches , breakfasts and snack during the conferences was probably the best I have had and the service was very good. The food was very fresh and had interesting and flavorful tastes. The one dinner we had as part of the conference was not as good, the appetizers were very good, but the meal itself was bland and lacking in flavor, not at all like the lunches (lobster bisque, salad, shrimp and filet for main course). The dinner was similar to other large dinners at functions I have attended, whereas the lunched were much better. Coffee at the 2 coffe bars in the complex was only passible, guess I am spoiled with very good east coast coffe (and I don’t mean Dunkin Donuts, yuck).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternMAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I attended a conference here in February 2013, staying in one of their exterior king bedroom rooms. For the entire stay, every staff member was super helpful, attentive, and warm. I have no idea why the people who have posted negative reviews here had such a different impression, but I find it hard to believe the staff was rude in any way. Everyone there was fantastic.

The resort has a lush, garden atrium with a glass roof. There are some rooms that overlook the atrium. I did not want to pay more for an atrium view, so they gave me a corner room that had two walls of windows. While the view wasn't that exciting (parking lot, nearby buildings, lots of flat land), it was the most spacious regular hotel room I have ever stayed in. The bed was very comfortable, there was NO noise from outside the room, and I had a very restful stay. A colleague stayed in one of their suites, and that was gorgeous with a conference table, living room area, and all the extras.

I ate at two of their on-site restaurants, both were very good. Also visited two of their bars for after conference networking. Top notch customer service and attentiveness everywhere I went. We had a catered lunch as part of the conference - that was surprisingly good and above average for conference food. Also ordered room service breakfast one day. It was delivered faster than expected, super hot, and although a bit pricey, the quality and freshness was excellent.

Conference rooms were well set up and we had good service for coffee, water, continental breakfast, etc.

If I had one complaint about the place, it was that some spaces were warm (meeting rooms) while other spaces were chilly. Plus, while located close to the airport, it was out in the middle of nowhere and not convenient to other Dallas attractions.

Overall, the Gaylord Texan provided one of the best conference experiences I have had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoplustwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport North/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: $248 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing