We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff - Above and Beyond...and even Below!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
232 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Staff - Above and Beyond...and even Below!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I visited the Gaylord Texan at a recent conference. The hotel was great as the Gaylords are. They think of all the amenities. It is a pricey place to stay, so be prepared. When you travel for business though, it is a lovely place to stay. While we were there there was a tornado warning which was rather frightening, but the Gaylord staff were incredible as they evacuated everyone down into the tunnels under the convention center/hotel. They brought around water and provided all of the hospitality that you would expect if you were upstairs in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    1,164
    629
    317
    241
See reviews for
1,148
522
83
1,605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for our 5 yr. anniversary in October. We are from the area so have been to the hotel many times for holiday events, but this was our first time to actually stay. We did the Anniversary weekend buy one night get one night free. They still sock it to ya for parking...$27 a night i think for valet, and supposedly self is free...but we were lazy and didnt want to walk! We did the Lone Star Atrium View...we liked the little balcony you get with the atrium view as opposed to windows. We lucked out and had a corner room, which gave us more space. We stayed with another couple, and our reservations were supposed to be linked together so our rooms would be close....of course that didn't happen. They were supposedly in the same type of room as us, but it was a lot smaller. Not sure if that was because we had a corner, or they lied to them about their room type. Forget being able to have a fun time in your room if it goes past 10:00, because you will start getting noise complaints. We got one on a Friday night, before 11:00. I was a little surprised at that. The gym is ok...not as big as I thought it was going to be, but a treadmill is a treadmill! They did have a few weight machines and free weights also. Texan Station is a good place to watch a game, but the drink prices are RIDICULOUS! All in all a nice stay, just some minor frustrations!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooley4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

When i stayed at the Gaylord Texan, I expected a super fantastic week-end. However, I was a little disappointed in the whole experience. Arriving at the front of the hotel, there is NO place to park to check in. You have to park in the parking garage, which is quite a way from the front lobby. Then, carrying your luggage and everything else that you are taking (gifts, purse, camera, etc.), and walking back to the lobby(approximately 2-3 blocks) is not my idea of a great start! Once inside, standing in line for about 20 minutes, waiting to check in, having lots of people with children push past you and then, finally getting to the desk to check in, was a complete nightmare. Once in the room, which needed a tour guide to find the elevatior, it was just ok. Nothing special. It was neat and clean, but, for some reason, I was expecting something very elegant and nice. It has a Disney quality about it, but not the service or familiarity that Disney has. Overall, i guess you could say this was just OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yahkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord Texan for business. This, like other Gaylord Hotels, a closed environment that contains everything you would need during your stay. I checked in and did not go outside until I checked out. The meeting rooms are nice and the food provided is good. The restaurants are good. The rooms are decent - very typical clean rooms with nothing special to make you want to come back. I have stayed here twice in two different locations and both rooms were dark. The spa was very nice and I enjoyed a wonderful massage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord Texan Resort for two nights attending a conference there. I was impressed by the size of the facility, which was Disney-esque, and I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The mattress was firm, room was quiet, bathroom had enough space, etc.

However, the service left a lot to be desired. I recently reviewed a much lower price range hotel with service that was much better than what I found here. In my three days at the Gaylord, nobody called me by my name (or even tried), zero smiles, no effort to help (and believe me, you might need a tour guide to find the right elevator to get to your room on the first day), late room service (I had to call housekeeping when I returned from 7 am to 4 pm conference on a weekday and found room was not cleaned yet).

An additional point- the hotel is isolated in its own space (seems like the Dallas area is all spread out over miles and miles of driving, flat landscape (but that's another story)), so if you want to go anywhere, you will need to rely on the hotel's drivers, who are courteous and punctual, but expensive too (hotel might consider a discounted approach, but I suspect they don't mind keeping you on their property during your stay- and in defense of the hotel, there are excellent restaurants and entertainment on the property if you choose to stay).

Overall a "4.5" for the structure (beautiful atrium, amazing trains, great sports bars/ wine bar, dining options, and very good fitness facility), a "2.5" for service, and hence a "3.5" overall. If I stay in this area again, I will consider alternative options, but I would not completely rule this hotel out (will need to price shop, and weigh what matters to you).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamartoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place to have fun and relax while you do business. My wife and stayed here during one week and while I was doing business she was relaxing and recharging her batteries. Very nice restaurants, walkways, waterways, bridges, and gardens. In addition, it's close to the attractions of Forth Worth and Dallas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdery J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The restaurants, walkways, waterways, and bridges make the environment romantic, but it's also a fun space for kids to explore. This makes a great headquarters for a getaway, since it's a very short drive from Grapevine to Fort Worth and Dallas. The rooms are due for an update, especially since the rates are quite high.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the large atrium cost more, but they offer a much more spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing