We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Gaylord in Grapevine is a great place to take the kids. We had a nice, big room with a den and pull out couch. Two tv's so kids could watch what they wanted. The water park was a blast. Our room was an atrium room so it did get loud about 2am or whenever young people were coming in from the onsite disco, but other than that, we loved it. The fireworks were so fun. We ate at the nice steakhouse which was phenominal, with great service and good wine selection. The character breakfast with Shrek was a lot of fun. We will definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms away from where guests will be coming in from partying in the wee hours of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cartyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 4,187 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think that I have finally realized what it is about this hotel. I tend to be here on business and it is not really geared to that purpose. Internet is an additional cost which I expect to be standard in business hotels. Parking is expensive for a hotel that is not in the downtown core and I do not expect to pay for parking. I have stayed at this hotel more than 5 times now and the first time when everything was new was likely the best stay. As a resort or vacation the attractions may be better suited but families may find it a tad expensive. I think that I may be a bit harsh on the review but if it is a business trip, a lot of the attractions are wasted or there is no time to enjoy them and you would likely enjoy this more for leisure than business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed here several times, but have never been able to go to the waterpark. I made reservations for the weekend after Labor Day. It is still very hot in Texas. When I made the reservation, I asked what time the waterpark was open. I was told the waterpark would be open until 10 PM. On Wednesday before our reservation on Saturday, I received a call saying the waterpark had closed for the season. Are you kidding me-it is still so hot in Texas? I told them that I was told it would be open, and they just said "sorry, it is closed." I asked if they would at least waive the $25 resort fee or waive the $20 parking fee and all they said was all they could do would let me cancel my reservation which was what we did. I will not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank travelorfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord Texas for a Nerium International Fall Bash 2012~The Hotel was fabulous, friendly and most of all everyone we encountered was very helpful, with directions, special needs, conveniences, etc. If you like Texas style, this company has done it right. The place is a vacation itself. It made me feel at home, with all the luxuries you can imagine. I will be back and it won't be long. Thanks for a wonderful weekend and business adventure.

Room Tip: The atrium view is awe inspiring, especially the Alamo and the landscaping is very well done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our stay at Gaylord Texan was part vacation, part business. If you want to feel like a green house flower, then you would love this hotel. It is almost as large as some casinos in Vegas. The main focus of this hotel is really meetings and conferences which is done professionally and efficiently. As for children, there is an indoor pool, outdoor pool and an amazing water park but it had closed on Labor Day so my kids missed out and had to settle for the pool. If you want to leave this beautiful green house, there is a shuttle service that is $10 for family of four or $5 per person all day but during the week, the don't start until 3pm. The shuttle takes you to Old Town Grapevine, Mills Outlet Mall, Bass Pro Shop (amazing), other hotels and DFW airport. The hotel has car service but there is a fee. It cost us $10 each way for a drive to the outlet mall which is almost 3 miles away. We didn't mind walking but there are really no walking paths to the mall. Taxis charge about $12 for the same trip. So a suggestion for all those conference attendees is to rent a car to get around. Our beds were very hard and the price of food is as expensive as NY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitpicky-traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to the Gaylord Texan for a convention and to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Every thing was fabulous..the food at the different restaurants was absolutely wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The Gaylord is beautiful and well cared for, very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a "bad" room in the whole hotel. Our room was on the 8th floor and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjflaglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Was there for a conference. Like the property in Orlando, this hotel is huge and fairly well laid out. Rooms were clean and regular sized. Some issues I had were related to costs and service. The bars were way understaffed and it was often quite difficult to get a drink. I found all of the restaurants and bars to be the same way. We had to ask maids to clean the room well into the afternoon. If you plan on driving here, be aware that valet parking is an obscene $27/ day. Self park is a bit less but not much. I ordered a margherita in the cantina which was weak and servered in a beer mug - price, $14 each! It is a nice place, but poorly run and overpriced. I wouldn't stay there if I was on vacation and not forced to because of business. I will say that the few staff we had contact with we're friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ValuesGoodValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: $238 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing