We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Trade Show/Conference/Convention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Trussville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for Trade Show/Conference/Convention”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here this month as an exhibitor for a conference. Staff was very nice and tried to be extra friendly and helpful. Resort has many amenities which make it easy to not leave the property for the length of your stay. Typical resort experience. Only downside is that the walls seem rather thin as it is easy to hear "loud" talkers and door slamming when you are in your room. As with a resort, expect to pay for parking. The price was over $18 for self parking with in and out privileges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuinBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    1,197
    650
    325
    246
See reviews for
1,187
535
87
1,654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leawood, kansas
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I have stayed at several Gaylord proerties..this was as good as the Orlando area one. Staff had great attitude, a can do attitude. Food was very good, waterpark area is very crowded with lounges...looks cramped, but overall this is a VERY good property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colesloough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for a conference in august. I had been reviewing the comments over the last few weeks. Hotel was beautiful, staff were very friendly, food was great, loved, loved, loved the paradise springs pool!!! Room was just average carpets stained, overlooking powerlines, a trailer park and trees and overgrown brush. Conference center was very nice, lunches in exhibit hall wa great!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciamandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel is a city under one roof. This trip was for business but made to feel like a vacation. Record heat outside but very comfortable inside. Would definitely plan a trip back with the family.
The only complaint would be options for food are limited. After 3 days on-site was ready for something different.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinHappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We wanted a last family getaway trip before school starts. We chose Gaylord Texan due to the new Paradise Springs waterpark addition. We enjoyed the park that you actually take a short shuttle to from hotel. There were lockers,towels, food. Our eight year old enjoyed the zipline and slide and lazy river. We also had little ones and and areas for them as well. Gaylord Texan atrium is a special treat within itself, the morning breakfasts were great and scenic. The rooms are normal hotel type accomodations, I only wish they had built condo-style for families as well. The location is good, Grapevine Outlet just down the road. SouthLake with great shopping and restaurants is 10-15 min. There is however construction issues within a mile from hotel on major routes around DFW, so take note and get info before heading out during next few months for alternatives routes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The cost and hidden fees at this hotel border on criminal. They don't mention the hotel fee, daily parking fee, 25% service charge on room service +delivery fee for that room service & then expect you to tip the wait staff. The hotel is massive & only has 3 restaurants for everyone. These 3 restaurants also take care of the room service which is guaranteed in 30 minutes at the costs mentioned above, but if you want to eat at one of the restaurants expect to wait at least 1.5 hours to be seated then another hour to get your food. The staff was unapologetic about this, which they say is the NORM here.
The water park area with all the fun things to do for kids doesn't mention that the kids have to be OVER 48 inches tall, only 2 of the 6 kids I had made that requirement. I tried to explain to 2 different young lifeguards that one of the girls was never going to be that tall and she was already 10 but he still would not let her go down the enclosed slide or zip line. This hotel had a pretty lobby, but that is the only positive I am taking away from it. Total Disappointment for my kid’s end of summer weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JodiMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize that you did not feel that your stay was enjoyable for your family. We do have height requirements for our waterslide, and a reach requirement for our 2 ziplines, both of which are listed on the Paradise Springs section of our website for our guests to view prior to their arrival at the hotel.

We also apologize for the wait time you experienced at our restaurants during your stay. This is not the normal situation for any of our 5 dining outlets.

Please feel free to contact us at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to address your concerns with you directly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place is absolutely outstanding. From the moment you arrive you realize that there is nothing overlooked. The staff is very friendly and obviously well trained. I've been here for both WEEKEND GETAWAYS and CORPORATE BUSINESS and the hotel handles each event perfectly. The PARADISE SPRINGS area is terrifc - we have two boys 7 and 12 and they had a blast and my wife and I enjoyed it as well.

A++++ RECOMMENDATION

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBFINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Hilton Anatole
#32 of 203 in Dallas
3,387 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#7 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing