We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welconme and "cool" family time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welconme and "cool" family time!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

It was 100+ outside during our 3 night 4 day stay here...but as we strolled the sidewalks of the Gaylord, enjoying the lush greenery, colorful flowers, gurgling waterfalls, bridges, etc. we never knew it! We LOVED that we were inside where we were pleasantly cool (though it seemed we were outdoors) as we tried the various cafes and restaurants there. From the Old Hickory Steakhouse (excellent but pricey!) to the Texan Station (with its Tex-Mex and huge screen TVs) it was not necessary to leave the hotel for meals. We were there with family...adults and grandchildren ages 26 down to 4 years...and all had an enjoyable time! As a matter of fact one of our granddaughters has cerebral palsy, so the convenience of not having to lift her in and out of the car to go places, was an added bonus! We took advantage of the Summerfest Special, which included parking, use of their new waterpark (Paradise Springs), and daily breakfasts. Southwestern decor is pleasing and the hotel's associates are very gracious and helpful. We were especially impressed with the staff...from the gentlemen who took our bags from the car to the lady who checked us out. ALL were upbeat and had a "can do" attitude. My husband and I were in a Deluxe Suite and other family members in an Executive Suite. Both were large and spacious. Only negatives would be: the two suites we had did not look like the ones on the Gaylord website (though they were fine); there was no separate shower (just shower/bath combination) and no turndown service...even for our suites. Those were overshadowed by the lovely time we had during the terrible heat wave while inside cool, peaceful....fun and delightful Gaylord Texan.

Room Tip: Check for internet specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meems3318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    1,198
    650
    326
    246
See reviews for
1,190
536
87
1,655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a fine conference hotel, but it is not a destination for kids. Spend your money at the Great Wolf Lodge instead -- it's right across the street. The Gaylord's water park is unimpressive. There is one water slide, and it is badly outmatched by 5 better slides at GWL. If your kids are under 6, they are likely not tall enough for the Gaylord's one slide. If your kids are under 8, they won't be tall enough for the (short) zip line. The only thing for many kids to do is float the lazy river -- it's pretty neat, but the large number of people/tubes in the water makes for traffic jams. Also, the water park is a short bus ride to/from the hotel, which becomes a hassle. My kids got bored with this place, which never happens at GWL. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Horalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our resort pool complex, Paradise Springs. We apologize that our new addition did not meet the needs of your family. In addition to the waterslide, 2 zip lines and 600 foot lazy river that you mentioned, we also have 2 horseshoe-shaped hot pools, water basketball and a dedicated toddler pool. If you would like to discuss your stay further with us, please feel free to contact us at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to discuss your stay directly with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was a trip with 3 of my grandkids, all 11 years old. We had a really great time "making memories" as we called it, and we did make memories. The only problem was the price of food. The new water park Paradise Springs was nice, but cannot compare to The Great Wolf Lodge. The price of a hot dog was $7.00. Could not afford to eat there many time.

Room Tip: Look for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank modom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed for the weekend and my children loved it, the new water park is great, checking in was over 45 min. ( 30 min. waiting to park), good food, staff was very nice, valet parking $ 25.00 daily

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cypress10814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Negatives:
1. Hotel staff ran a noisy carpet cleaner multiple times down our hallway at 7:00 AM.
2. No security presence to address three separate instances of inidviduals acting out due to excessive alcohol. The three incidents occurred in the Atrium, outdoor pool and Paradise Springs.
3. Superfluous charges for "resort fees" and "self-parking" in addition to advertised room rates.
4. Noisy rooms with thin walls.

Positives:
1. Impressive atrium
2. My kids enjoyed Paradise Springs

I have attempted to address these issues directly with the hotel staff on two occasions since our stay. It has been over a week with no response from the hotel. This suggests a lack of consideration for the satisfaction of their guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clarkg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Atrium and our new resort pool, Paradise Springs, we are sorry to hear about the other aspects of your stay.
Please feel free to contact us directly at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to reach out to you to discuss your stay in detail.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We came here with our children, ages 12 and 15. The rooms were spacious enough to accomodate all four of us, and we loved that there was a small fridge in the room to keep extra drinks on hand for the kids. The lobby, reception area and grounds are very well kept and it is fun to walk through the atrium areas. The only area that we found needed some additional tlc was the on-site outdoor pool. We used this on a Friday night around 10 pm, and there was alot of debris in the pool and used towels laying around in spite of the fact that there were still many people in the pool. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. There were plenty of activities for us to do each day. The Paradise Springs pool area was alot of fun. We traveled with friends with younger kids and it was perfect for them. There was not enough to keep my 15 year old entertained. We were upset that they did not allow us to bring in ANY of our own food or drinks (not even water bottles) to the pool area. Tip: get the $15 refillable soda cup, we used it all weekend. We never ate at the restaurants on the property due to the reviews saying the food was very expensive, and there are plenty of restaurants within an easy drive to eat at. There was a large beauty convention going on when we were at the hotel, so it seemed that everywhere we went was very crowded. On Sunday we went to go out for the day and everyone from the convention was checking out, it took us over 30 minutes to get our car from valet. After paying a hefty price for valet this was extremely frustrating, we would have been better off self parking. The other very large negative was the room walls seemed to be paper thin. Every night and morning we heard people on each side of us, very frustrating when one neighbor got in late at night and the other neighbor got up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof4SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

First of all the structure is magnificent and the decor spectacular. the staff smiles and is friendly but accommodation is not part of their routine. i mean seriously... they do better than anyone I have ever seen at telling you to get lost off with a Texas accent and smile. I asked for an hour later check out (to accommodate a meeting I was in) and they were going to charge me for another day. Because of the meetings I had on site I ate 3 meals there and I found the food to be most expensive for the quality. (tolerable cuisine). I literally felt like they were trying to make a buck off of me at every step. I'm surprised they didn't charge a cool air fee. Have no interest in rushing back...

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to accomodate your request for a late check out on your departure day. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to hear more about your stay, and the less than accomodating service that you received. Please feel free to contact us directly at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to discuss your stay with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Hilton Anatole
#33 of 203 in Dallas
3,392 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#7 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing