We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like being in a terrarium, but a good business stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like being in a terrarium, but a good business stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

If you ever wondered what it would be like to live in a space station -- this is the hotel to visit. I spent a week there for a business convention and never stepped outside. On the flip side, I was able to walk the Texas- style, desert meets adobe type landscaping even in stormy weather. The hotel has a "get 'er done" line for unusual requests and they were amazingly prompt and courteous with mine. The food at the restaurants was quite good - but a bit expensive and there is no food store to buy less expensive snacks or drinks inside the hotel - so bring your own (I did and I was so glad). It is a great hotel for convention , but definitely a "no" for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    1,075
    568
    286
    208
See reviews for
998
477
78
1,474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I don't know where to begin. I have to preface this by saying our stay was covered so we did not pay a thing. Thank goodness for that as the total estimate for a two night stay was well over $700.

For starters, our room was supposed to be one of these luxurious two room suites. There was king bedroom and the "living room". I told the staff that particular room would not work for our family as it was my husband and I with our three kids--11, 12 and 14. They did not have another room so we had to literally "STUFF" the living space with two rollaway beds next to the pull out couch--all of which were uncomfortable for the kids. We could barely walk around! Our king bed was a hard as a rock and absolutely killed my back.

Our complimentary breakfast buffet for 5 of us would normally cost $80! The food was cold and the "waiter" (water pourer) was extremely rude.

The people staying in the hotel obviously had money and were very unfriendly. There was only a lap pool and while my kids were playing, people sitting in there (not even swimming) glared at us the whole time. My daughter walked to the pool in her swimsuit only to be gawked at.

Our experience at the Holiday Inn Express we stayed in prior to this (in Arkansas of all places) was by far more enjoyable!

Room Tip: No King Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimad91906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a great place to stay. Beautiful decor. Exceptional accomodations. Excellent food. Caring and friendly staff. What more could one want !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I felt very trapped in this gigantic soulless hotel. It's half an hour away from everything, and there's not much to do on site except eat. The restaurants are nice, but try getting a salad or piece of fruit to go. The jogging trails were closed for some reason during my visit. The fitness center was adequate, but small for the number of people using it. The shops are not very interesting, and there are only a few.

I encountered a problem here that I've never encountered before, and that was trouble with getting my room cleaned. Housekeeping was tapping on my door (even though I had the do not disturb sign up) at 7:30 am, and when I sent them away, I discovered that they would never come back - I'd be gone all day and come back to wet towels and an unmade bed. I wouldn't consider this "resort" level service at all.

There's free internet in the rooms which worked well, but none in the convention space.

It took my friend from Dallas 30 minutes and my friend from Fort Worth 1 hour to get to the hotel, but I'm glad they came and helped me escape a couple of times - I was extremely bored at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyasukot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service and experiences for our guests, and this not the type of experience that our guests have come to expect at the Gaylord Texan. This is something that we take very seriously. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly at VoiceOfTheCustomer@Gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to address your individual issues with you directly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
335 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

As with many other Gaylords, the Gaylord Texan is another great resort hotel near DFW airport. The resort includes more than 10 restaurants and several bars including a very large impressive sports bar with large displays. I especially enjoyed the Old Hickory Steakhouse, although it was expensive. My room had a balcony overlooking the inside courtyard. Refrigerators, separate shower and sink rooms are also included. The walk around the premisis is quite nice although you need not leave the hotel. There is much to enjoy here for several days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

i guess all about Texas is overly done! too big too far the walks in the hotel area are for sport mode traveler .
they have ok service and not so great food.
however they had such a neat out door lobby area
you must visit with a guitar shape garden decor lovely~

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service, facilities and dining experiences for our guests at the Gaylord Texan. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you personally. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly at VoiceOfTheCustomer@Gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to address your individual issues with you directly.

Thank you.

Gaylord Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hotel beautiful . Food is somewhat expensive. Nice for a convention. Excellent spa.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harleyTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing