We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dino's Steak & Claw House

Dino's Steak & Claw House
Ranked #15 of 232 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First of all, this was a Groupon purchase. I didn't know anything about the restaurant, but figured a place with steak AND seafood couldn't be bad. In spite of the prices, people were there in shorts. We started off with rolls and some sort of butter that was both sweet and sour at the same time. The rolls were warm, but they were of the kind you could purchase at the grocery store. The lobster bisque was wonderful! My companion ordered the 14oz NY strip; the first piece was excellent, the rest rather poor. I had the stuffed chicken, which had spinach and cheese inside; it was very dry. Both dinners came with mashed potatoes, very dry, with no gravy, and no butter to give them any flavor. Both dinners also included steamed zucchini and carrots, both of which were raw. The saving point was the server, Rosa; she was excellent and very attentive. Although the restaurant prefers reservations, they really weren't needed; although they had a good amount of customers, it was far from crowded.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    12
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

outstanding food, impeccable service and beautiful historic buidling Arrive before 7 or make reservations....upstairs.tables are very nice, downstairs has live pianist which seemed a little loud for conversation. Our waiter, Georgio, was excellent and when we mentioned our anniversary, he brought a frozen ice cream dessert for us. More than we normally pay to eat our, but even my frugal husband agreed the meal was worth the price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissy955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First time and would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First time to dine and wished we had dressed more casually for outside dining just because weather was so nice. Was great anyway and we got to listen to piano player. I had tuna and husband had steak and scallop special. My tuna was good (though I actually ordered halibut and waiter miscoded it but was apologetic). Steak was good but scallops rather bland. Waiter did bring dessert to make up for mistake but wished he had asked our preference first. Brought tiramisu, which was good but wouldn't have been my choice. Next time will sit outside and try appetizers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Located in the heart of downtown Grapevine, what a cool find this was. We did not have a reservation but we were there early enough that they were able to seat us. Good food and very nice service. I recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome gem near DFW in downtown Grapevine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just had a great dinner there on a Wednesday night with family and a friend from out of town. Everything was terrific. Exterior is unassuming, but inside atmosphere was quiet and dark. There was a second floor balcony for additional seating and a private room which was in use for what looked like a business dinner. Dress ranged from casual to semi-formal. Service was excellent. Our waiter, Giorgio was very knowledgeable. The menu is short, but it is supplemented by several specials which Giorgio explained in great detail. Steaks are dry aged and were delicious. Good wine selections, heavy on reds as to be expected.

There were four of us, three adults and one teenager. A seafood appetizer platter for two was perfect for the whole party. The calamari were done perfectly and the crab cakes were especially tasty. I didn't get one of the scallops, but the others said they were sumptuous. The adults all had the lobster bisque. It tasted like velvet and everyone enjoyed it.

All of us ordered steaks. The seared NY strip was amazing, Great flavor and tender. It came with garlic mashed potatoes and a carrot/zucchini medley. While we were all very full, we were enticed into ordering one dessert for the table and all shared. Total bill was reasonable for wine, appetizer, soup, dinner and dessert at about $70/person including tax.

I would definitely come back here for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyTimeShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dino's Steak & Claw House also viewed

 

Been to Dino's Steak & Claw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing