We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grapevine Vintage Railroad
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Review of Polar Express Christmas Train Experience

We went as a family on a beautiful Sunday afternoon in early December. Not the best Christmas kids... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
travelfish2018
Grapevine North Pole Express details

Here’s a synopsis of the trip with details to follow if you want them! Total time: 3 1/2 hour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mscdaniel
,
Kennedale, Texas
via mobile
Read all 256 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Grapevine
from $34.63
More Info
from $17.29
More Info
from $34.63
More Info
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
73
72
55
19
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
72
55
19
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort worth cattle drive steam locomotive stock yards air conditioned car first class car train car hour ride hot chocolate is slow pace trees lining snacks and drinks fun trip the polar express special events shops and restaurants main street
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 256 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The train robbery was epic. Instead of taking money we received money like coupons. The ending was awesome... the sheriff ends his act in the woods by grabbing a small branch and hiding behind it.. I did not capture it by camera, but it was overly funny!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Kenmitche9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was a little rough and trained was tipsy but over al good ride on full size train. Would like to have more scenic ride with great views instead of the city area in the distant.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank biers2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great train ride,with a hold up by bandits half way, the kids big and small loved it. Not a lot of time to spend on the layover at Fort Worth Stockyards so if you want to see the cattle drive, you need to make another visit by car.The museum at the grapevine train station is well worth a visit and the mechanical shoot out, opposite, is good fun

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The train leaves out of Grapevine, takes a little over an hour to get to the Stockyards, stays there for a couple hours and heads back. The train offers a $3 per ticket discount to military (thanks guys). Train has people who help get you some snacks, drinks, etc..Jim was very nice and extremely helpful. We ordered up a couple bags of popcorn, 4 sodas, and I think it was $8....can't remember. I do remember the hot dogs were $2 and I didn't think that price was all that crazy! Once you get to the Stockyards, 2 hours will fly by in a blink of an eye. Plenty of tourist attractions, our kids (8 and 3) hopped up on a steer and had their picture taken ($5 a picture). If you sit down to eat somewhere, that will be the only thing you do at the Stockyards as the time will go right on by. Parking is free at the train station, and I highly recommend you buy your tickets in advance online (when we went the train sold out and families were turned away). First class means you are inside and the air conditioning is pumping so hard you can hang meat in your cart. If you are not first class riders you will be facing the elements in an outdoor cart (does have a roof). My advice, GO and have fun. Anything you spend after the train rides is completely up to you.

Date of experience: May 2013
2  Thank TEIE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We went on the Memorial Day Train & the people I took with me had never been on any train ride before (4 yo, 6 yo, adult, & Senior Citizen). Everyone had fun. They had a stop for a staged train robbery which added to the fun for the little ones. We went to Fort Worth Stockyards where we were able to get off for a couple of hours & look around then train ride back to Grapevine.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank RondaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews