We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Crisp and modern business hotel you decide if worth $150 per night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Crisp and modern business hotel you decide if worth $150 per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip and overall was pleased. The hotel appears quite new or very recently renovated. Parking is plentiful and several restaurants are within walking distance across the parking lot (Joe's Crab Shack, Olive Garden, El Fenix). Proximity to DFW airport is good, yet out of the flight path so the hotel is relatively quiet. Beware as of this time (September, 2011) extensive construction, enough to fool a GPS unit, exists all around DFW airport expressways on the north side, including where this hotel is located.

Hilton Garden Inn does not have suites, and I'd expect in this price range (approximately $150/night) that you might expect to get a suite. However, this location is considered desirable and that affects the price. Suite hotel rooms in this area can average $250/night. If you want similar arrangements yet save a bit of money, the hotels on the south side of the airport are generally cheaper.

Although I requested a King room, I got a double Queen which is acceptable to me. The room is equipped well for a business traveler. Both wired and wireless free Internet (you don't see wired Internet offered much anymore), a good work desk with three outlets available, and an ergonomic desk chair. Comfy chair with ottoman in the corner, flat panel TV with basic cable and a couple of movie channels, nice refreshment station with microwave, mini refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathroom looked fresh and clean, everything worked well, plenty of towels and Neutrogena bath products.

I ate one night in the lobby restaurant which is expensive ($36 for a steak dinner and deluxe dessert). I experienced two minor issues here (they ran out of potatoes, and no vinegar for oil/vinegar salad dressing). Almost no one eats dinner there, but a few people do hang out in the bar watching sports.

In the morning, this same area is used for the $9 breakfast buffet which includes cooked to order egg dishes as well as steam table scrambled, bacon and sausage patties. The self serve items were good (juices, yogurt, fruit, pastries and breads, with the exception of the waffle maker which should be replaced. I'm very familiar with these units which are used in various Hilton chains. This one's nonstick cooking surface is worn out, and they have a can of nonstick spray that each user is supposed to apply before cooking. The waffles ended up with black burned specks.

I think the breakfast should be free as it is very similar to the free breakfasts offered in other Hilton chains with the exception of the cooked to order eggs.

The hotel does not have a complimentary fruit basket in the lobby in the evening. I like to eat a piece of fruit each day, and the only way is to buy the breakfast and save the fruit until later.

I used the exercise facility which is quite nice, several treadmills, couple of ellipticals, some free weights. Cardio machines have TV's mounted and you can tune and listen with your wired headset - they also had a headset there with a bottle of replacement earpads, small towels, and water cooler. The exercise room looks into the inside pool and spa which I did not use.

Although the area appears very safe to me, I believe they might have a problem with theft from cars. I saw multiple signs in the parking lot about parking at your own risk, both at this hotel and the hotel next door. I also saw a police sky crane portable unit, the type of device that temporarily parks and then raises so an officer can scan the parking lots - often used in shopping malls. With this in mind, I made sure to park right in front of the hotel lobby. I did not see any evidence of car break-ins such as broken glass in the lots, and maybe I am overly cautious.

If you like old downtown Grapevine, it is a mile away across the freeway with some trendy restaurants and a bit of historic feel.

Checkout was easy. I did stop by the front desk vs. use their automated checkout with the phone.

Room Tip: medium size room, clean and crisp
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willbegone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    136
    44
    18
    19
See reviews for
117
82
30
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at Great Wolf Lodge for 2 nights & moved b/c of the price at GWL. Hilton Garden Inn at Grapevine is very nice & affordable & close to GWL.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoTexansFight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We’ve stayed at Hilton properties for decades, often at Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites, but had never stayed a Hilton Garden Inn. This location at Grapevine is at the north end of the DFW Airport, and convenient to many area attractions and restaurants.

This property appears new, and is sleek and clean in design. The check-in was perfect, and the front desk clerk quickly processed the reservation I had made online days earlier. The room was a good size, and there were no problems. We were a bit fearful about potential noise from aircraft approaching DFW, but the planes landed to the south all night and there was no noise. The next morning, planes took off to the north, over the hotel, and there was some noise, but it was well within reasonable levels considering the hotel’s convenient location to the airport.

We will definitely return to this Hilton Garden, and others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimelessAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Friendly staff..great pools for kids! Breakfast was great

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nites on a mini vacation for my son's birthday during the July 4th weekend. The staff was friendly, the hotel was inviting, and the room was clean. The staff at the hotel also left a little surprise for my son - a bucket of goodies, balloons in the room and a sweet card. Breakfast was also included in our rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel11Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

As airline employees we attempted to fly stand-by to see son before deploying from Ft. Bliss when the airlines cancelled 1 flight. This 1 flight cause a domino effect of horrible chances of getting there.
Rather than spending an entire day at the airport we decided to rent a car and go back home. We went to grabe a bite to eat at Joe's Crab Shack when we figured we might as well stay in the metroplex. The hotel is close to Joe's so we drove over to see if any vacancy. Lucky for us they did. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is lovely. Our room was roomy with sleep number beds, wi-fi, neutrogena bath products. All in all this was a great night stay. Breakfast in the morning is continental with your basic products or they have a breakfast buffet for $9.95 with cook to order omlete's or pancakes. The breakfast items consisted of usual pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, waffles, bacon, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy. Coffee was Starbucks (too strong for me).
We would most definitely stay here again if we find ourselves needing a room near DFW or the Grapevine Mall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal2net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here one night before we flew to Mexico, and then returned for another night after our flight back. This hotel shouldn't be called an airport location hotel NOT because it's not near the airport (because it is!) but because it feels like your no where near the airport. There's no plane noise early in the morning and late at night, there's no slamming doors at 5 a.m., and there's comfort all around.

Another nice thing: we were able to leave our car in the parking lot during our trip to Mexico for free. You do leave your license tag and car information with the front desk, but they don't charge you.

We also had breakfast one of the mornings. It was very good, and it was worth the $9.95 price. Cooked-to-order omelets, make-your-own waffles, a nice selection of fresh fruits, juices, and coffees, plus cereal, yogurt, pastries and biscuits and gravy.

The front desk staff were also helpful in suggestions for local restaurants that weren't too far away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OKTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 18 in Grapevine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine

Property: Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine
Address: 205 West State Highway 114, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grapevine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grapevine
#11 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine hotel in Texas is close to the dining and shopping venues of historic downtown Grapevine. Let us pamper you with home-style amenities such as a hot breakfast, comfortable bed and complimentary WiFi access. Consult with our expert planners and hold a meeting, conference or event in 2,000 sq. ft. of space. Our hotel also features a 24-hour business center. Take the complimentary 24-hour shuttle to Grapevine attractions within 2 miles, including to DFW Airport every half-hour. Guests can also call to arrange pick up from airport. After sampling wines at local vineyards, for which Grapevine is named, return to the hotel for dinner at the Garden Grille. Your room features a comfortable adjustable bed, microwave and refrigerator. Wake up the next day to a cooked-to-order breakfast. Refresh yourself in the indoor saltwater pool, or work out in the 24-hour fitness center. Whether you stay here for leisure or business, you'll find the extras you want while on the road. Enjoy the wonderful amenities, ideal location and warm hospitality of our Grapevine, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dfw North Grapevine Hotel Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing